DISMEMBER: 'The God That Never Was' Album Cover Posted Online

Long-running Swedish death metallers DISMEMBER have posted the cover artwork for their new album, "The God That Never Was", at this location.

Due on February 20 via Regain Records, the follow-up to 2004's "Where Ironcrosses Grow", was once again produced by drummer Fred Estby at Sami Studio in Stockholm. The group's current lineup is completed by Matti Kärki (vocals), David Blomqvist (guitar), Martin Persson (guitar) and newcomer Tobias Christiansson on bass.

With regards to the upcoming CD, Estby said, "Musically we're trying to do better with every album. Most of us are in our 30s and we have got to prove ourselves a little bit more every time. We fought hard with this album.

"Me and David, who have done most of the music throughout the years, are terribly conservative. We realized a long time ago what kind of riffs that will work and which ones that will have to go. No, you won't hear cheesy guitar licks on a DISMEMBER album, but at the same time the band have to keep on moving in order to keep things interesting."

On the album's lyrical approach, Fred said, "It became very hostile towards religion. I have always written lyrics like that, while Matti has been more into war and serial killers. This time we decided that we had had enough of the crap going on in the world today and decided to write about everything that pisses us off."

"The God That Never Was" track listing (in no particular order):

01. The God That Never Was
02. Shadows of the Mutilated
03. Time Has Nothing
04. Autopsy
05. Never Forget, Never Forgive
06. Trail of the Dead
07. Phantoms (Of the Oath)
08. Into the Temple of Humiliation
09. Blood for Paradise
10. Feel the Darkness
11. Where No Ghost Is Holy

As previously reported, DISMEMBER have scheduled a CD-release show on February 3, 2006 at Tantogården in Stockholm, Sweden. Also appearing on the bill will be INSISION. On January 14, Estby and vocalist Matti Kärki will appear as DJs at a gig in Italy, at a venue called Keller Birreria on Statale Briantea 32 Curno (BG). They have promised to air some songs from the upcoming album, according to a posting on the group's web site.

DISMEMBER were previously signed to Karmageddon Media (formerly Hammerheart Records) and Nuclear Blast.

Regain Records recently reissued a major part of the band's back catalogue, including "Pieces", "Indecent & Obscene", "Massive Killing Capacity", "Death Metal", "Hate Campaign" and "Complete Demos".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).