Lemmy Kilmister (MOTRHEAD), DEVILDRIVER, SODOM, DORO, FINNTROLL and BORKNAGAR are among the artists who are featured on the 20th-anniversary tribute to METALLICA's self-titled album, available with the September 2011 issue of Germany's Metal Hammer magazine. The 80-page publication containing the disc, behind-the-scenes articles and interviews as well as a 32-page Wacken Open Air special hit newsstands in Germany on August 24.

The world-exclusive "Metallica" tribute album includes eleven previously unreleased recordings plus a cover of "Enter Sandman" that was recorded by Lemmy Kilmister and members of ZEBRAHEAD for the 1998 compilation "ECW: Extreme Music":

* LEMMY - "Enter Sandman"
* THE NEW BLACK - "Sad But True"
* DEVILDRIVER - "Holier Than Thou"
* DARK AGE - "The Unforgiven"
* CALLEJON - "Wherever I May Roam"
* I.C.S. VORTEX - "Don't Tread On Me"
* NEAERA - "Through The Never"
* DORO - "Nothing Else Matters"
* MOTORJESUS - "Of Wolf And Man"
* FINNTROLL - "The God That Failed"
* BORKNAGAR - "My Friend Of Misery"
* SODOM - "The Struggle Within"

Audio samples of the CALLEJON, I.C.S. VORTEX and DEILDRIVER covers can be streamed using the SoundCloud player below.

METALLICA's 1991 self-titled fifth album, commonly known as "the black album," in 2009 surpassed SHANIA TWAIN's 1997 record, "Come On Over", as the best-selling CD of the SoundScan era. To date, the black album has sold 15,693,000 copies.

Although METALLICA had scored their first radio and video airplay with their previous effort, 1988's "...And Justice For All", the black album was the band's biggest commercial breakthrough, producing five singles and making them into one of the most popular rock bands in the world.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).