DETHKLOK's 'Dethalbum II' Projected To Sell 30K-40K First Week

According to Hits Daily Double, the companion web site of music industry tip sheet HITS, "Dethalbum II", the new album by DETHKLOK — the animated band from Adult Swim's "Metalocalypse" — is on track to sell between 30,000 and 40,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release.

"Dethalbum II" was released on September 29 via Williams Street Records. The effort features 12 full-length tracks detailing DETHKLOK's exploits in murder, mayhem and all things brutal. Written by Small and recorded alongside legendary drummer Gene Hoglan, "Dethklok: Dethalbum II" was released as both a standard edition and a two-disc deluxe edition on CD and digital download. Additionally, a limited-edition vinyl of the album was released in to local record shops.

The track listing is as follows:

01. Bloodlines
02. The Gears
03. Burn the Earth
04. Laser Canon Deth Sentence
05. Black Fire Upon Us
06. Deth Support
07. The Cyborg Slayers
08. I Tamper with the Evidence at the Murder Site of Odin
09. Murmaider II: The Water God
10. Comet Song
11. Symmetry
12. Volcano

The deluxe edition includes a bonus DVD with 52 minutes of never-before-released music videos featured in the 2008 DETHKLOK tour.

Check out the cover artwork below.

Created by Brendon Small ("Home Movies") and Tommy Blacha ("Da Ali G Show"), the "Metalocalypse" television series launched in 2006 and is on its third season on Adult Swim. One of the most popular series on the cable network, "Metalocalypse" portrays DETHKLOK as a Norwegian band with unheard-of popularity, even ranking them as the seventh-largest economy on earth. In 2007, this phenomenal virtual success transformed into real-life success with the CD release of "Dethalbum". Constructed of full-length songs only partially heard during the show's episodes, "Dethalbum" took audiences by storm and has seen unparalleled success. Performed by a commanding assemblage of renowned metal musicians, the album debuted at No. 21 on The Billboard 200 and sold more than 33,000 copies within its first week, making "Dethalbum" the highest-selling death metal album ever, with more than 270,000 copies sold to date.

The real-life version of DETHKLOK will take part in an in-store signing session at Graywhale in Taylorsville, Utah on Friday, October 9 at 4:00 p.m.

1775 West 4700 South
Taylorsville, UT
Tel.: 801-964-5700

DETHKLOK will team up with Atlanta's hard rock icons MASTODON for a co-headlining tour in October/November. Also scheduled to appear are CONVERGE and HIGH ON FIRE. The 34-city trek will kick off October 2 and will scorch the nation coast to coast.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).