DEMON HUNTER's 'Extremist' Cracks U.S. Top 20

DEMON HUNTER's 'Extremist' Cracks U.S. Top 20

"Extremist", the seventh album from Seattle-based Christian metallers DEMON HUNTER, sold around 18,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 16 on The Billboard 200 chart. The CD was released on March 18 via Solid State.

DEMON HUNTER's sixth album, "True Defiance", opened with 12,500 units back in April 2011 to land at No. 36.

"Extremist" track listing:

01. Death
02. Artificial Light
03. What I'm Not
04. The Last One Alive
05. I Will Fail You
06. One Last Song
07. Cross To Bear
08. Hell Don't Need Me
09. In Time
10. Beyond Me
11. Gasoline
12. The Heart Of A Graveyard

Deluxe-edition bonus songs:

13. Waste Me
14. Helpless Hope

In an interview with Jesus Wired, DEMON HUNTER lead singer Ryan Clark stated about "Extremist": "I can say that it's a very mature record for us. It spans a lot of territory — so it's anything but a one-dimensional record, and I hope that's appreciated. The good thing is that it's 12 songs (14 on the deluxe)… no filler… no instrumentals… so there' a lot of varying material."

He added: "Like every DEMON HUNTER record, there are a variety of styles happening on 'Extremist'. Usually, the first few songs that we release show as much of that variety as possible. With that said, there are a bunch of songs that are just as heavy as 'Artificial Light', if not heavier. There are a few songs that are melodic and moody, like 'I Will Fail You'. And there are also songs that fit somewhere in the middle… the way that 'The Last One Alive' does. If you compare these songs to some of our material in the past, say 'God Forsaken', 'Dead Flowers' and 'Fading Away', respectively, then you'll see that it's not necessarily new ground… I think the important factor is that they're hopefully better… more mature… catchier… more interesting… creative… thought-provoking."

DEMON HUNTER made headlines last year for its purported association with the Navy SEAL who killed Osama Bin Laden. In an article in Esquire, the anonymous SEAL said: "I wore my DEMON HUNTER patch on every mission. I wore it when I blasted Bin Laden."

"I Will Fail You" lyric video:

"The Last One Alive" lyric video:

"Artificial Light" lyric video:

Interview (part 1):

Interview (part 2):

Interview (part 3):

Interview (part 4):



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).