DEFTONES Announce Details Of 'White Pony' Remix Album 'Black Stallion'

DEFTONES Announce Details Of 'White Pony' Remix Album 'Black Stallion'

DEFTONES will celebrate the 20th anniversary of their third album, "White Pony", by releasing a remix LP called "Black Stallion" on December 11 via Reprise/Warner. The first single from the effort, a remix of "Knife Prty" by Purity Ring, can be streamed below. DEFTONES also enlisted such producers and artists as DJ Shadow, Clams Casino, THE CURE's Robert Smith, LINKIN PARK's Mike Shinoda, Squarepusher, Blanck Mass and Salva for "Black Stallion" for reimaginings of other "White Pony" favorites.

"Black Stallion" track listing:

01. Feiticeira (Clams Casino remix)
02. Digital Bath (DJ Shadow remix)
03. Elite (Blanck Mass remix)
04. Rx Queen (Salva remix)
05. Street Carp (Phantogram remix)
06. Teenager (Robert Smith remix)
07. Knife Prty (Purity Ring remix)
08. Korea (Trevor Jackson remix)
09. Passenger (Mike Shinoda remix)
10. Change (In the House of Flies) (Tourist remix)
11. Pink Maggit (Squarepusher remix)

DEFTONES announced their plans for a "White Pony" remix album during a virtual press conference in June. At the time, singer Chino Moreno stated: "We're going to be releasing later in the year a reissue of ['White Pony'] and we're going to do sort of a split side of the record, a remixed version of it titled 'Black Stallion'. So we have a bunch of different people on it, some that actually inspired some of the writing of the record itself, the original album. So it's kind of come full circle."

DJ Frank Delgado revealed that "Black Stallion" was in the works before "White Pony" even saw the light of day.

"We would talk about ['White Pony' before it came out], how good it was going to be, and we'd immediately jump to, 'It's going to be so good, we're going to have [DJ] Shadow remix it and we'll call it 'Black Stallion'. I think one time we actually hit him up. He was playing here in town and I was opening DJing and me and Chino kind of cornered him."

"White Pony (20th Anniversary)" is available in three physical formats: 2 CD + digital download; limited-edition deluxe box set (2 double LPs + 2 CDs); and a vinyl box set (2 double LPs).

DEFTONES' ninth album, "Ohms", arrived in September.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).