DEF LEPPARD Announce Title For Covers Album

DEF LEPPARD's official web site has been updated with the following message:

"By now, most of you know that the next DEF LEPPARD album will be a collection of cover tunes from (mostly) '70s hits, and some of you may have read in various interviews that the album is scheduled for release in the fall of this year. While the final tracklisting is still the subject of debate, we are happy to tell you that the band has given us the green light to announce the title of the album. It's short n' sweet, quite to-the-point and 'in your face' and it reflects the very essence of rock n' roll. DEF LEPPARD's new album will simply be called..... 'YEAH!'"

As previously reported, DEF LEPPARD guitarist Phil Collen recently told that the song list for the group's all-covers set has yet to be finalized, as the group decided to record more cuts than it originally planned. Collen admits that the idea for the project was first hatched years ago. "Joe [Elliott, vocals] has been wanting to do it for like 20 years," he says. "He's like, 'Oh, it'll be great, like [DAVID BOWIE's] 'Pin-Ups'!' Someone mentioned it at the label and we just jumped on it. We kind of had a list for years anyway."

Collen confirmed that the album will include "A bunch of stuff — all '70s stuff. Most of it is songs that we grew up with in England. 'No Matter What' by BADFINGER is going to be the leadoff single. We've done 'Waterloo Sunset' by THE KINKS, T. REX, MOTT THE HOOPLE, ROXY MUSIC and THIN LIZZY. And a lot of it is obscure; it's not the standard stuff. It's not like STONES or BEATLES songs."

As for the musical approach, Collen said, "They vary. Some of them are like we've kept almost karaoke versions, [while] other ones are completely different. It's not any one thing; it's however we felt for each song, really."

Here are tracks that have been recorded for the all-covers album:

"10538 Overture" (ELO)
"20th Century Boy" (T. REX)
"Don't Believe a Word" (THIN LIZZY)
"Drive in Saturday" (DAVID BOWIE)
"Hanging on the Telephone" (BLONDIE)
"Hellraiser" (SWEET)
"He's Gonna Step on You Again" (JOHN KONGOS)
"No Matter What" (BADFINGER)
"Little Bit of Love" (FREE)
"Stay With Me" (THE FACES)
"Street Life" (ROXY MUSIC)
"The Golden Age of Rock & Roll" (MOTT THE HOOPLE)
"Waterloo Sunset" (THE KINKS)
"Heartbeat" (JOBRIATH)
"How Does It Feel" (SLADE)
"Kick Out the Jams" (MC5)
"Roxanne" (THE POLICE)
"Dear Friends" (QUEEN)
"When I'm Dead and Gone" (MCGUINNESS FLINT)
"Winter Song" (LINDISFARNE)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).