DEEP PURPLE To Release Comprehensive New Anthology, 'A Fire In The Sky', In September

DEEP PURPLE To Release Comprehensive New Anthology, 'A Fire In The Sky', In September

DEEP PURPLE stands alongside LED ZEPPELIN and BLACK SABBATH as part of the Holy Trinity of British hard rock. The list of the band's classic songs is legion, and the influence it's had on successive generations of musicians is both enduring and remarkable. Rhino will celebrate DEEP PURPLE's history with three definitive collections.

"A Fire In The Sky" will be available as a single CD and a three-CD set on September 8 in North America with an international release following later in the year. A three-LP version will also be available on November 3. Each version includes a selection of songs chosen from the 19 studio albums that DEEP PURPLE recorded between 1968 and 2013.

The single-disc version of "A Fire In The Sky" features 20 songs and focuses mainly on the band's singles. The heavy hitters are here, of course — "Smoke On The Water" and "Highway Star" — but so are gems like "Perfect Strangers", the title track from the band's platinum-certified album from 1984, as well as "Hell To Pay", from 2013's "Now What?!".

The three-disc version of "A Fire In The Sky" dives even deeper into PURPLE's past with 40 songs and includes at least one track from every studio album through "Now What?!". It also provides the ultimate showcase for the group's various incarnations through the years. To date, more than a dozen musicians have appeared on a DEEP PURPLE album.

Among the set's many highlights are: the title track from 2005's "Rapture Of The Deep"; "King Of Dreams" from 1990's "Slaves And Masters"; "Bad Attitude" from 1987's "The House Of Blue Light"; "You Keep On Moving" from 1975's "Come Taste The Band"; and "Hush" from the group's 1968 debut, "Shades Of Deep Purple". This expanded version also features Kevin Shirley's 2010 remix of "Dealer", and the 2012 stereo mix for an early version of "The Bird Has Flown".

"A Fire In The Sky" will also be available as a three-LP set that includes 27 songs. Among the highlights are the single edit version of "Woman From Tokyo", the U.S. single edit for "Burn", and the radio edit of "Bad Attitude".

Earlier this year, DEEP PURPLE released their 20th studio album, "Infinite", and as announced a co-headlining North American tour with ALICE COOPER. It begins on August 12 in Las Vegas.

"A Fire In The Sky" single-disc track listing:

01. Hell To Pay (Radio Edit)
02. Rapture Of The Deep
03. Sun Goes Down
04. Any Fule Kno That
05. Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming (Edit)
06. Bad Attitude (Radio Edit)
07. Knocking At Your Back Door (Single Edit)
08. Perfect Strangers (Single Edit)
09. You Keep On Moving (Single Edit)
10. Soldier Of Fortune
11. Burn (U.S. Single Edit)
12. Woman From Tokyo (Single Edit)
13. Highway Star (U.S. Single Edit)
14. Smoke On The Water (U.S. Single Edit)
15. Fireball
16. Strange Kind Of Woman
17. Child In Time (Part 1)
18. Speed King (U.S. Album Edit)
19. Black Night
20. Hush

"A Fire In The Sky" three-disc track listing:

Disc One:

01. Hell To Pay
02. Vincent Price
03. Wrong Man
04. Rapture Of The Deep
05. Sun Goes Down
06. Any Fule Kno That
07. Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming
08. Vavoom: Ted The Mechanic
09. The Battle Rages On
10. King Of Dreams
11. Call Of The Wild
12. Bad Attitude
13. Knocking At Your Back Door
16. Perfect Strangers

Disc Two:

01. You Keep On Moving
02. Dealer (2010 Kevin Shirley Remix)
03. Stormbringer
04. Soldier Of Fortune
05. Mistreated
06. Might Just Take Your Life
07. Burn
08. Rat Bat Blue
09. Woman From Tokyo
10. Space Truckin'
11. Smoke On The Water
12. When A Blind Man Cries

Disc Three:

01. Highway Star
02. Demon's Eye
03. Fireball
04. Strange Kind Of Woman
05. Child In Time
06. Speed King (U.S. Album Edit)
07. Black Night
08. Hallelujah
09. Emmaretta (2012 Stereo Mix)
10. The Bird Has Flown (Early Version – 2012 Stereo Mix)
11. Wring That Neck (a.k.a. Hard Road)
12. Kentucky Woman
13. Mandrake Root
14. Hush

"A Fire In The Sky" three-LP track listing:

Side One:

01. Hell To Pay (Radio Edit)
02. Vincent Price
03. Rapture Of The Deep
04. Sun Goes Down
05. Any Fule Kno That

Side Two:

01. Sometimes I Feel Like Screaming
02. The Battle Rages On
03. Bad Attitude (Radio Edit)
04. Perfect Strangers

Side Three:

01. You Keep On Moving (Single Edit)
02. Soldier Of Fortune
03. Stormbringer
04. Burn (U.S. Single Edit)
05. Might Just Take Your Life
06. Woman From Tokyo (Single Edit)

Side Four:

01. Highway Star
02. Smoke On The Water
03. Demon's Eye
04. Fireball

Side Five:

01. Strange Kind Of Woman
02. Speed King (U.S. Album Edit)
03. Child In Time
04. Black Night

Side Six:

01. Kentucky Woman
02. Wring That Neck (a.k.a. Hard Road)
03. Mandrake Root
04. Hush


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).