DEEP PURPLE Frontman IAN GILLAN: 'Gillan's In' Details Revealed

The complete track listing has been released for DEEP PURPLE frontman Ian Gillan's upcoming album "Gillan's Inn" — a celebration of Ian's 40th year on the road, featuring remakes of tracks spanning Ian's entire career.

As previously reported, "Gillan's Inn" will be made available on the new DualDisc format; regular stereo CD on one side, DVD on the other. Gillan has used this to allow listeners to choose from four different guitar solos on the remake of "Smoke on the Water".

In a recent interview with, Gillan spoke about the "Smoke on the Water" remake that appears on the upcoming CD: "'Smoke on the Water' is a big, big part of my history and a big part of why I'm here and able to do what I do," he said. "I couldn't really ignore that, but at the same time, you have to recognize that a lot of those songs, [like] 'Smoke…', 'Child In Time', 'Highway Star', etc. are snapshots in time and cannot be improved. They are what they are. It would be foolish to try and recapture that magic, because you can't. So, what I did with 'Smoke on the Water' was to treat it respectfully, it's a fairly regular version, but use it as a showcase for some of the guitarists to work with. On there you have Jeff Healey, Steve Morse, Joe Satriani… The talent there is incredible."

Among the other guest musicians slated to appear on the record are BLACK SABBATH guitarist Tony Iommi, fellow DEEP PURPLE members Ian Paice (drums) and Roger Glover (bass), Jon Lord, Don Airey, Joe Satriani, Jeff Healey, Janick Gers, Michael Lee, Johnny Rzeznik, Robby Takac and Redd Volkeart.

"Gillan's Inn" track listing:

CD Side:

01. Unchain Your Brain – Feat. Joe Satriani (guitar), Michael Lee (drums)
02. Bluesy Blue Sea – Feat. Jamick Gers (guitar), Michael Lee (drums)
03. A Day Late And A Dollar Short – Feat. Uli Jon Roth (guitar), Ronnie James Dio (vocals)
04. Hang Me Out To Dry – Feat. Joe Satriani (guitar), Michael Lee (drums)
05. Men Of War – Feat. Steve Morse (guitar), John Rzeznik (guitar)
06. When A Blind Man Cries – Feat. Jeff Healy (guitar), Jon Lord (organ)
07. Sugar Plum – Feat. Roger Glover (bass), Ian Paice (drums)
08. Trashed – Feat. (Tony Iommi (guitar), Roger Glover (bass), Ian Paice (drums)
09. No Worries
10. Smoke On The Water – Feat. Steve Morse (guitar), John Rzeznik (guitar), Jon Lord (organ), Ian Paice (drums)
11. No Laughing In Heaven – Feat. Roger Glover (bass), Ian Paice (drums)
12. Speed King – Feat. Joe Satriani (guitar), Michael Lee (drums)
13. Loving On Borrowed Time – Feat. Steve Morse (guitar), Uli Jon Roth (guitar)
14. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight – Feat. Joe Elliott (vocals)

DVD Side:

* Complete album in 5.1 surround sound
* Making Of "Gillan's Inn" video
* Track by track audio commentary byIan Gillan
* Special "Select the Soloist for Smoke On the Water" section (choose from Jeff Healy, Joe Satriani, Steve Morse, Tony Iommi, Uli Jon Roth and more)
* Rare performance videos of Ian fronting DEEP PURPLE and BLACK SABBATH
* "Demon's Eye" – DVD side only – featuring Jeff Healy (guitar), Jon Lord (organ)
* Special DVD-ROM bonus track – "Can I Get A Witness?" featuring Cliff Bennett (singing), Ronnie James Dio (backing vocals), Mickey Lee Soule (keyboards)
* Photo Gallery
* Lyrics

"Gillan's Inn" is scheduled for release on April 18.



Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).