DARKTHRONE: 'Preparing For War' Special Edition Boxset Available For Pre-Order

Peaceville Records have just released a special edition boxset of DARKTHRONE's "Preparing for War" anthology (originally issued in 2001), which covers more rare tracks and includes a DVD of rare interview and live footage. It is only available for pre-order online from Peaceville's online store at this location (product will ship from December 14).

"Preparing for War" special edition boxset features two CDs and a DVD and comes in a clam box, complete with poster and booklet containing an in-depth interview with the band, conducted by U.K. journalist James Hinchliffe.

Disc One is the original "Preparing For War" CD that was released via Peaceville in 2001. Disc Two is a continuation of the theme and is a collection of rare and highly sought-after recordings of classic DARKTHRONE songs. The DVD contains a collection of DARKTHRONE's very rare live appearances, kicking off with their only TV appearance EVER — a two-song set for Oslo TV way back in 1989. Also on the DVD is one of the only fully filmed gigs of DARKTHRONE available, taped in 1991 in Riihimaki, Finland. There are also four tracks filmed live at a gig in Lahti, Finland in 1991 and three tracks filmed in Oslo in 1996. To end this mighty release are a sequence of interviews filmed in the cold Norwegian countryside in 2003. In these extraordinary interviews both members of the band film and interview each other giving the fans a rare opportunity to get inside the minds of one of the most special bands to emerge from the frozen North. They originally appeared as enhancements on the CD-ROM versions of the classic albums: "Soulside Journey", "A Blaze In The Northern Sky", "Under A Funeral Moon" and "Transilavanian Hunger". As an extra little treat, a photo gallery is also included, including shots of the band taken by the acclaimed photographer Pete Beste.

"Preparing for War" special edition boxset track listing:

Disc 1 - Original "Preparing for War":

01. Transilvanian Hunger
02. Snowfall
03. Archipelago
04. I En Hall Med Flesk Og Mjod
05. The Pagan Winter
06. Grave With A View
07. Eon/Thulcandra
08. Soria Moria
09. Natassja In Eternal Sleep
10. Cromlech
11. In The Shadow of the Horns
12. Neptune Towers
13. Under A Funeral Moon
14. Skald Av Satans Sol
15. Iconoclasm Sweeps Cappadocia

Disc 2 - Demo & Rehearsal Tracks:

01. Eon
02. Thulcandra
03. The Watchtower
04. Accumulation of Generalization
05. Sempiternal Sepulchraity
06. A Blaze In The Northern Sky
07. Kathaarian Life Code
08. The Pagan Winter
09. Where Cold Winds Blow
10. In The Shadow of the Horns
11. Summer of The Diabolical Holocaust
12. Crossing The Triangle of Flames
13. Under a Funeral Moon

Disc 3 DVD - Rare Live Performances:

Oslo TV 1989:

01. Eon/Thulcandra
02. Soria Moria

Riihimaki - Finland 1991:

01. Cromlech
02. Life
03. Soulside Journey
04. Black Daimon
05. Nor The Silent Whispers
06. As Desertshadows
07. Trident
08. Paragon Belial
09. A Blaze In The Northern Sky

Lahti - Finland 1991:

01. Cromlech
02. Life
03. Soulside Journey
04. Black Daimon

Lahti - Finland 1991:

01. Intro/Under A Funeral Moon
02. Blackwinged
03. Transilvanian Hunger

DVD Extras:

"The Interviews"

DARKTHRONE recently completed work on their twelfth album, their first under the group's newly rekindled partnership with Peaceville Records. Songtitles set to appear on the CD, tentatively titled "The Cult is Alive", include "Too Old Too Cold", "Graveyard Slut" and "The Cult of Goliath". An early 2006 release is expected.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).