DARKTHRONE: 'Frostland Tapes' 3-CD Box Set Details Revealed

Norwegian black metal pioneers DARKTHRONE will release a three-CD box set entitled "Frostland Tapes" on June 23 via Peaceville Records.

For the past 21 years, DARKTHRONE has been one of the leaders of the black metal scene. To coincide with this anniversary, Peaceville Records will release "Frostland Tapes", a fascinating trip into the earliest years of the band and the first official release ever to contain all four of DARKTHRONE's demos in one place. "Frostland Tapes" also includes a rare live recording from Denmark in 1990 (one of only a handful of live appearances that DARKTHRONE has ever made) and, perhaps most significantly, the previously unreleased version of the infamous 1991 "Goatlord" rehearsal session. These songs were intended to feature on the proposed second album before the band changed direction and the tapes were confined to the vaults. Vocals were subsequently added in the mid-Nineties, but they are presented here as the recording sounded in 1991 instrumental genius, showing the complexity and intricacy of a band with a great future ahead of them. The set comes in a rigid digibook featuring an interview with the band, chronicling their early days, ambitions and inspirations.

Disc 1:

"Land Of Frost" Demo (1988)

01. Land of Frost
02. Winds of Triton
03. Forest of Darkness
04. Odyssey of Freedom
05. Day of the Dead

"A New Dimension" Demo (1988)

06. Intro: Twilight Dimension
07. Snowfall

"Thulcandra" Demo (1989)

08. Eon
09. Thulcandra
10. Archipelago
Extra track: "Soria Moria"

Disc 2:

"Cromlech" Demo (1989)

01. The Watchtower
02. Accumulation of Generalization
03. Sempiternal Past/Presence View Sepulchrality
04. Iconoclasm Sweeps Cappadocia

Live From Denmark 1990:

05. Cromlech
06. Sunrise over Locus Mortis
07. Soulside Journey
08. Accumulation of Generalization
09. Sempiternal Past/Presence View Sepulchrality
10. Iconoclasm Sweeps Cappadocia
11. Neptune Towers

Disc 3:

"Goatlord" Rare Instrumental Version (1991)

01. Rex
02. Pure Demoniac Blessing
03. (The) Grimness of which Shepherds Mourn
04. Sadomasochistic Rites
05. As Desertshadows
06. In his Lovely Kingdom
07. Black Daimon
08. Toward(s) the Thornfields
09. (Birth of Evil) Virgin Sin
10. Green Cave Float
11. A Blaze In The Northern Sky
12. Fenriz Drum Solo

For more information, click here.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).