DARK TRANQUILLITY To Issue 2-CD Collection Of Rarities

Sweden's DARK TRANQUILLITY will celebrate their 15th birthday by releasing a double CD featuring rare and previously unreleased material. A May 31 release through Century Media Records is expected.

"For many years, we've received lots of questions regarding the possibility of our pre-album material ever being released on CD, and we're very happy to provide old and new fans that are interested in the first chapter of our history with a viable alternative to forking out a small fortune on Ebay for a worn-out original copy of the demo or 7" EP," the band write on their web site.

"After a lot of digging though the vaults, the original DAT tapes for our 'Trail Of Life Decayed' demo (1991) and 'A Moonclad Reflection' EP (1992) were found, and we could happily note that they were intact and had survived the ten years in limbo remarkably well. With the help of some carefully executed mastering magic, the sound quality has been boosted a great deal.

"In addition, we have the pleasure of including a couple of songs that were recorded during the studio sessions for our last three albums. Some of these tracks, like 'Exposure' and 'Cornered', have until now only been available on limited edition versions of the albums, while some others, like 'Static', 'No One' and 'In Sight', are previously unheard by anyone outside the immediate band circle.

"As a special treat, we're also including a second disc with more than 70 minutes of live songs (the audio portion of the recently released 'Live Damage' DVD. Enjoy!

"'Exposures...' comes packaged with an extensive 20-page booklet filled to the rim with exclusive photos from all stages of the band's career as well as liner notes from noted music journalist Chris Dick (www.digitalmetal.com), a initiated long-time observer of the scene.

"The release date for 'Exposures…' will be May 31st via Century Media Records in Europe and the 2-CD will be released for the fair deal of a Single-Disc price. Further international release dates will be announced shortly!"

"Exposures - In Retrospect And Denial" 2-CD full track listing:

Disc 1 (Rare Material):

01. Static
02. The Poison Well
03. Misery In Me
04. Cornered
05. In Sight
06. No-One
07. Exposure
08. Yesterworld
09. Unfurled By Dawn
10. Midwinter/Beyond Enlightenment
11. Vernal Awakening
12. Void Of Tranquillity

Disc 2 (Live Material):

01. The Wonders At Your Feet
02. The Treason Wall
03. Hedon
04. White Noise/Black Silence
05. Haven
06. Punish My Heaven
07. Monochromatic Stains
08. Indifferent Suns
09. Format C: For Cortex
10. Insanity's Crescendo
11. Hours Passed In Exile
12. The Sun Fired Blanks
13. Damage Done
14. Lethe
15. Not Built To Last
16. ThereIn
17. Zodijackyl Light
18. Final Resistance
19. Ex Nihilo


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).