NOKTURNAL HELLSTORM, the black metal project led by veteran bassist Danny Lilker (BRUTAL TRUTH, NUCLEAR ASSAULT, ANTHRAX), has released its debut album via United Underground (a division of Sevared Records). Produced and engineered by Lilker and mastered by Doug White at Watchmen Studios, the self-titled CD features 41 minutes of "ripping Scandinavian-inspired black metal," according to a press release.

"Nokturnal Hellstorm" track listing:

01. Naan Kadavul
02. Vile Entropy
03. Eternal Wasteland
04. The Penalty
05. Ancient Spirits Call
06. The Trial
07. Lacerated Dawn
08. Mesmerized By The Flames

The album is available now at Sevared.com.

When asked how NOKTURNAL HELLSTORM came together, Lilker told Decibel magazine, "In a way, it's similar to how BRUTAL TRUTH began way back in '90, with me working in my home studio. I wrote the music, programmed the drums and played all the instruments (no vocals, though). I asked Ron from CRUCIFIST to write and record vocals for this project, but before he got around to it, the band came to life when I realized that some of my friends from the Rochester melodic black/death band SARCOUS would be able to play this material. So, we took the three songs I had written — one of which is 'Naan Kadavul' — wrote another song together, and recorded what we had. That's the essence of how the band started, and as far as the impetus; well some may remember a black metal band I played in called HEMLOCK from New York City in the mid-to-late '90s. We broke up in 2001 and I relocated to Rochester a year after that. Although CRUCIFIST embodies elements of black metal, I wanted to play pure black metal again. I was quite inspired by the early '90s Scandinavian black metal scene, which re-lit the fire that had gone out when the original black metal bands from the '80s lost their direction or broke up. While a lot of people were simply drawn to the more sensational aspects of this scene and lost interest when all that died down, I still was drawn to the music, so NOKTURNAL HELLSTORM is, for me anyway, an homage to that era. We are not reinventing the wheel here."

For more info and details on upcoming live appearances, visit the band's Facebook page.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).