DAN SWANÖ Working On New Solo Project

World-renowned Swedish multi-instrumentalist and producer Dan Swanö (EDGE OF SANITY, NIGHTINGALE, ex-BLOODBATH) is currently working on an album which he describes as "a cross between ALTER BRIDGE and MOONTOWER-style [Dan's 1999 project] stuff." He says, "I am writing it right now, and it will not be a MOONTOWER 2. I already have an album title and a cover in mind, but I won't 'leak' [it] 'cause it is so cool that it will most likely be stolen!!! I have written around 50 riffs already where maybe 10 will survive the 'filter.' There will be more normal singing there and not so one-dimensional like MOONTOWER. There will still be growls, but nothing fast and grinding. I will use a bunch of session musicians that haven't been playing this kind of stuff before and I am sure there will be a nice collision!"

As previously reported, Dan Swanö has finished laying down the vocal tracks for the upcoming OBLITERHATE debut album. Recorded at Unisound Studio (Sweden) in just two weeks, Dan's contribution on the vocals for OBLITERHATE is the first time in more than a decade that he has done vocals for a full-length intense death metal album.

Commented Dan: "I am ready happy with the way my growls sound and after a few days it felt like my throat surrendered and let me do this stuff without the throat pain and the blistering headaches, which is cool."

OBLITERHATE's debut album, tentatively titled "Blessing In Disgust", will contain nine songs and will be released sometime in 2008 via Pulverised Records. The project, which is said to follow a "more brutal and intricate direction" than RASPATUL, features contributions from some of metal's legendary and highly renowned musicians:

Erik Sayenga (WARTHRONE, ex-DYING FETUS) - Drums
Derrick Ramirez (DRAGONLORD, ex-TESTAMENT) - Bass
Mirai Kawashima (SIGH, ex-NECROPHAGIA) - Keyboards
James Murphy (DISINCARNATE, ex-DEATH, TESTAMENT) - Guest guitar solo

The legendary Jeff Becerra from the mighty POSSESSED has penned down some lyrics for OBLITERHATE, and will appear on this debut album. The other part of the lyrical songwriting and vocal arrangements will be handled by Rogga Johansson, who is the mastermind behind PAGANIZER, THOSE WHO BRING THE TORTURE, RIBSPREADER and DEMIURG.

For more information, visit www.myspace.com/obliterhate.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).