D GENERATION To Release First Album in 17 Years, 'Nothing Is Anywhere'

D GENERATION To Release First Album in 17 Years, 'Nothing Is Anywhere'

D GENERATIONJesse Malin, Danny Sage, Howie Pyro, Richard Bacchus and Michael Wildwood — is widely regarded as one of the most important and unsung rock 'n' roll bands of the past 25 years. On July 29, these five childhood friends will release "Nothing Is Anywhere" (Bastard Basement Records), their first album in 17 years. The band will return to Irving Plaza in New York City on July 30 for a hometown record release show.

Produced by guitarist Danny Sage, "Nothing Is Anywhere" is a first-or-second-take album, recorded in basements under Avenue A and the Magic Shop in New York City.

"We've finally made a record that represents us," says Sage. "We make a really good noise on stage, and this album is a little more snotty, nasty. The needles are in the red a bit more."

In the bombed-out warehouses of early-'90s Brooklyn, D GENERATION formed as a reaction to the culture. "We decided to do another record because we still have a fire under us," says Jesse. "The world is even more full of shit than it was when we were in our 20s. One digitally connected highway of invasion and disposableness, burning through the planet and time." "Nothing Is Anywhere" became an escape, both a continuation of their lives and a way to remember where they came from.

On the autobiographical "Apocalypse Kids", D GENERATION might have summed up their story in four lines: "slip through the cracks like a criminal / lost in a packet full of chemicals / from ‪7th Street to The New York Times."

"We grew up together as misfits who always turned towards music as an escape and a way out," says Jesse. "We always had each other."

"Bands should be a gang, a brotherhood," adds Malin, who began playing music with Danny in Queens at age of 13. "We've all known each other forever," says Sage. "We're like a weird family that you can never leave, but somehow it all makes sense."

"Nothing Is Anywhere" track listing:

01. Queens Of A
02. Lonely Ones
03. Apocalypse Kids
04. 21st Century Blues
05. Dance Hall Daze
06. Mercy Of The Rain
07. Hatful Of Rain
08. Don't Believe
09. Rich Kids
10. Militant
11. Piece Of The Action
12. Not Goin' Back
13. Tomorrow

Check out the new song "Apocalypse Kids" below.

Photo credit: Dave Steckert



Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).