CYNIC's 'Traced In Air' Pushed Back To November

"Traced in Air", the new album from reunited progressive metallers CYNIC, has had its North American release date pushed back to November 25 from the previously announced October 28 (via Season of Mist). The CD will be made available in Europe on November 17.

Commenting on the delay, guitarist/vocalist Paul Masvidal stated, "When Season of Mist made us aware of the release date change, it was immediately apparent that this offered us the potential to spread the word even more about this album. Sean [Reinert; drums] and I are extremely proud of the new record and are looking forward to sharing it with CYNIC fans around the world, even if we have to wait just a bit longer. We're thrilled about touring with OPETH next month in Europe, and of course the states tour beginning in January is going to be on fire!"

The first run of CYNIC's "Traced in Air" CD will be a limited-edition hard cover digipack with the cover artwork embossed to further showcase the beautiful cover by renowned artist Robert Venosa, as well as eight original pieces of art paired with the eight songs found on the album. Venosa created the unmistakable cover and visuals for 1993's groundbreaking "Focus" album. This limited edition will also feature a poster of the cover art. Also released the same day is the "Traced in Air" collector's box, which will only be available for order online and limited to 1,000 copies.

The box contains the following:

* USB keychain with the CYNIC logo included
* DVD size album art and lyric booklet
* Three stickers with Venosa art from "Traced in Air"
* Postcard sticker of the "Traced in Air"cover
* Plexiglas case, etched with the CYNIC logo and album title for CD included
* Compressed CYNIC t-shirt
* Limited-edition poster
* Journal: Limited edition also contains a one-of-a-kind translucent 24-page journal booklet (magnifying glass included), with personal notes, lyric sketches, rare photos, thoughts and dreams taken directly from CYNIC's universe, mostly consisting of Paul Masvidal's personal journals which tell the story of "Traced In Air" and his own creative process as a songwriter. Equally lucid and esoteric, a true CYNIC fan will cherish the raw beauty of this unique and profound piece of art.

A brand new audio interview with Paul Masvidal is available for streaming at

"Integral Birth", a new track from CYNIC, can be downloaded at this location.

"Traced In Air" track listing:

01. Nunc Fluens
02. The Space For This
03. Evolutionary Sleeper
04. Integral Birth
05. The Unknown Guest
06. Adam's Murmur
07. King of those Who Know
08. Nunc Stans

Returning from the "Focus" era for the new eight-song, 35-minute effort are are founding members Masvidal and Reinert along with Sean Malone (bass), and joining the band in the studio is newcomer Tymon Kruidenier (guitars/growls). The band recorded the effort at a California studio with producer Warren Riker (DOWN, SANTANA).


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).