CREAM: 'Goodbye Tour – Live 1968' 4CD Live Box Set To Be Released In February

CREAM: 'Goodbye Tour – Live 1968' 4CD Live Box Set To Be Released In February

UMe has announced the four-CD, special edition of CREAM's "Goodbye Tour Live 1968". Set for release on February 7, 2020, this sumptuous set brings together 36 tracks, including 29 making their first appearance on CD, recorded during CREAM's farewell tour of the U.S. in October 1968 and their final U.K. date at London's Royal Albert Hall on November 26th of that same year. There are a total of 19 previously unreleased tracks, and a further 10 tracks from the Royal Albert Hall show, which have only ever been available on DVD. Rolling Stone magazine's David Fricke supplies insightful liner notes, chronicling the group's collective musical genius and their legendary final tour.

For all pre-orders, there will be free downloads made available starting today with "Sunshine Of Your Love" (Live At Oakland Coliseum Arena, California / 1968), followed by "Crossroads" (Live At The San Diego Sports Arena / 1968) on January 13, 2020.

On its original release in February 1969, "Goodbye", which combined live performances from their last tour dates with a handful of studio recordings, rose to the U.K. No. 1 slot and to No. 2 on the U.S. Billboard chart. This new expanded edition comprises three U.S. concerts; Oakland Coliseum, Los Angeles Forum, San Diego Sports Arena alongside London's Royal Albert Hall. It captures CREAM at their virtuosic best, at the end but also at the height of their career.

With CREAM, Ginger Baker, Jack Bruce and Eric Clapton, set the template for not only the "supergroup" but also the "power trio," with their innate musical talent and brilliance. Only coming together as CREAM in July 1966, they shone briefly but blindingly brightly throughout two trailblazing years.

Clapton said: "CREAM was a shambling circus of diverse personalities who happened to find that catalyst together… any one of us could have played unaccompanied for a good length of time. So you put the three of us together in front of an audience willing to dig it limitlessly, we could have gone on forever… And we did…. just going for the moon every time we played."

Disc One: October 4, 1968 - Oakland Coliseum, Oakland (all tracks previously unreleased, except *)

01. White Room 6.19*
02. Politician 5.22*
03. Crossroads 3.57
04. Sunshine Of Your Love 5.35
05. Spoonful 16.47
06. Deserted Cities Of The Heart 5.26*
07. Passing The Time 10.40
08. I'm So Glad 7.07

Disc Two: October 19, 1968 - Los Angeles Forum, Los Angeles (all tracks previously unreleased except *)

01. Introduction by Buddy Miles 1:39
02. White Room 6.53
03. Politician 6.41*
04. I'm So Glad 9.37*
05. Sitting On Top Of The World 4.53*
06. Crossroads 4.25
07. Sunshine Of Your Love 6.27
08. Traintime 8.11
09. Toad 12.55
10. Spoonful 17.27*

Disc Three: October 20, 1968 - San Diego Sports Arena, San Diego (all tracks previously unreleased)

01. White Room 6.42
02. Politician 6.26
03. I'm So Glad 7.53
04. Sitting On Top Of The World 5.45
05. Sunshine Of Your Love 5.13
06. Crossroads 4.13
07. Traintime 9.39
08. Toad 14.03
09. Spoonful 9.12

The Oakland Coliseum, Los Angeles Forum and San Diego Sports Arena concerts were mastered from the original 1968 analog mix reels by Kevin Reeves at Universal Mastering, Nashville, Tennessee.

Disc Four: CREAM Farewell Concert November 26, 1968 - Royal Albert Hall, London (all tracks first-time release on CD)

01. White Room 8.02
02. Politician 6.37
03. I'm So Glad 6.53
04. Sitting On Top Of The World 5.06
05. Crossroads 5.03
06. Toad 11.22
07. Spoonful 15.47
08. Sunshine Of Your Love 8.37
09. Steppin' Out 5.02

The Royal Albert Hall concert was mastered from the original 1968 analog transfer reels by Jason NeSmith at Chase Park Transduction, Athens, Georgia.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).