COLD's 'Superfiction' Cracks U.S. Top 40

"Superfiction", the fifth studio album from Jacksonville, Florida hard rockers COLD, sold around 11,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 37 on The Billboard 200 chart. The CD was released on July 19 via Eleven Seven Music/SonicStar Records.

"Superfiction" track listing:

01. Wicked World
02. What Happens Now
03. American Dream
04. The Break
05. Welcom2MyWorld
06. Emily
07. The Crossroads
08. Delivering the Saint
09. So Long June
10. The Park
11. Flight of the Superstar
12. The Ballad of the Nameless

According to a press release, "Wicked World" teeters between a primal guitar crunch and airy choral poetry, embodying the bands developed sound while maintaining a stronghold on their musical roots.

"The main idea was to go back to the lyrical fiction of the first and second records," says lead singer Scooter Ward. "This album comprised of these grand stories, and it's the most fun we've ever had making a record."

Sonically, the trademarks of COLD's sound remain intact on "Superfiction". The bellowing bass, warm guitar hum, and driving drum beats all make for impactful music just like it did when the band first formed in 1996. The band's first CD since 2005 weaves together twelve tales of heroism, heartbreak, and healing. On "Superfiction", COLD combines vivid, vibrant storytelling with elegant rock. It's a combination that the band has perfected since it burst onto the scene in 1998 with its self-titled debut.

The title really sums it all up, though. Ward reveals, "Superfiction is art that literally pops off its canvas or foundation. In that sense, it becomes something else. The word wraps up the record because we want these stories to come to life. I want you to sit down and listen to the songs and feel the stories. After you've read the story, you can visualize this unfolding in your mind."

COLD released its self-titled debut album in the summer of 1998. After steadily building a solid touring base, the band returned in 2000 with its sophomore effort, "13 Ways to Bleed on Stage", which peaked at #1 on Billboard's Heatseekers chart and brought the band its first appearance within the Top 100 on The Billboard 200 chart. In 2003, COLD scored its biggest hit to date with "Stupid Girl" (co-written by WEEZER's Rivers Cuomo) off "Year of the Spider". The smash single went to #4 at Mainstream Rock and #6 at Modern Rock. "Year of the Spider" went all the way to #3 on The Billboard 200 chart, followed by "A Different Kind of Pain" in 2005, which went to #26 on the same chart.

COLD is:

Scooter Ward (Vocals, Keyboards, Guitar)
Zach Gilbert (Guitar)
Jeremy Marshall (Bass, Vocals)
Sam McCandless (Drums)

"Wicked World" video:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).