CLUTCH: 'Live At The 9:30' DVD Trailer Available

2010 will prove to be the busiest calender year in the career of veteran rock band CLUTCH. Building on the Top 30 Billboard chart success of 2009's "Strange Cousins From the West" (Weathermaker Music), the Maryland-based quartet will internationally issue a brand new epic DVD set called "Live at the 9:30" in mid-May. This 200-minute double-disc concert film will be sold at the fan-friendly price of $19.98.

Disc one features a 90-minute full length concert filmed with seven high-definition cameras last December at Washington, D.C.'s legendary 9:30 Club. In addition to newer fan favorites like "50,000 Unstoppable Watts" and "Let a Poor Man Be", the concert film's first disc includes an electifying version of the 1995 "Clutch" self-titled release in its entirety. An audio version of the full 19-song concert will be exclusively available through iTunes on May 11.

Disc two is the 110-minute feature film "Fortune Tellers Make a Killing Nowadays", which takes a behind-the-scenes look at CLUTCH "on tour" city by city in 2009. This "bonus disc" is not limited to recent CLUTCH happenings, however, as it includes rare band interviews as well as vintage never-before-seen footage documenting much of CLUTCH's history from 1991 to the present. Both discs were directed and produced by Agent Ogden, who first worked with the band on 2007's "Full Fathom Five, Video Field Recordings".

On June 4, CLUTCH will kick off another leg of their 2010 worldwide headlining tour. The early summer portion takes the band through the USA, Canada, Norway, Sweden, Greece, Italy and the U.K. The band's instrumental jazz rock alter ego, THE BAKERTON GROUP, will appear as one of the opening acts in North America. Both THE BAKERTON GROUP and CLUTCH will appear on the Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival on June 11 and June 12 respectively.

In support of the tour dates and the forthcoming "Live at the 9:30" DVD, as well as the current "Strange Cousins From the West" CD, Weathermaker Music released the new single, "Let a Poor Man Be", on May 3, with an accompanying video clip and a rare promo-only EP featuring unreleased material.

As if that's not enough to keep this hard-working rock and roll band musically busy, CLUTCH and Weathermaker Music are currently preparing expanded CD and vinyl re-issues of catalog pieces "From Beale Street to Oblivion", "Robot Hive/Exodus" and "Blast Tyrant". These three highly anticipated projects will be available digitally and physically at retail and the band's web sites on the CD/DVD format on June 22, August 17 and October 12, respectively. Double vinyl versions of all three re-issues will be available on November 23. Track listings are not yet available, but Weathermaker label manager Jon Nardachone hints at some very exciting details.

"The bonus content of the three re-issues will be entirely different," he said. "We're still sifting through unreleased CLUTCH originals, cover songs, live audio, live video, alternate takes, etc, One thing we know for sure is that each reissue will have updated and upgraded artwork/packaging as well as additional music from the exact timeframe each CD was first released. This is not about tacking on a couple of unfinished demos to the end of each CD. We're producing these with the knowledge that CLUTCH fans expect something fresh, yet distinguishably representative of that moment in time. The diehard fan will appreciate these projects in a big way."

"Live at the 9:30" two-DVD track listing:

DVD 1: Live at 9:30 Club on December 28, 2009

01. 50,000 Unstoppable Watts
02. Struck Down
03. Minotaur
04. Let A Poor Man Be
05. Big News 1
06. Big News 2
07. Rock & Roll Outlaw
08. Texan Book of The Dead
09. Escape From The Prison Planet
10. Spacegrass
11. I Have The Body of John Wilkes Booth
12. Tight Like That
13. Animal Farm
14. Droid
15. The House That Peterbilt
16. 7 Jam
17. Tim Sult Vs. The Greys
18. Regulator
19. Gravel Road

DVD 2:

* "Fortune Tellers Make A Killing Nowadays" documentary-style film

The official trailer for "Live at the 9:30" can be viewed below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).