CLOVEN HOOF: 'The Definitive Part One' Now Available

NWOBHM (New Wave of British Heavy Metal) legends CLOVEN HOOF recently spent time in the studio re-recording 24 of their classic songs for a two-part "best-of" compilation, "The Definitive Part One" and "The Definitive Part Two". "The Definitive Part One" will be available exclusively on the band's web site from February 13 ahead of the album's official May 1 worldwide release date. It will be distributed by Universal.

Commented the group: "The CD is aimed at old and a growing new generation of fans, eager to experience the majesty of a band that has paid its dues and is at the height of its powers. Selling over 30,000 albums worldwide, CLOVEN HOOF have drawn from a fine back catalogue of albums that have been regarded as later day metal masterpieces. 'A Sultan's Ransom' is considered by many to be the bands finest release to date, but it is sure to be eclipsed by the release of 'The Definitive Part One'.

"Paul O'Neil produced 'The Definitive Part One', and Jon Astley, who has worked with LED ZEPPELIN, THE WHO, JUDAS PRIEST and THE ROLLING STONES, mastered it. Paul recorded all CLOVEN HOOF's backing tracks live and caught the group's energetic performance in full flight.

"Too many so-called metal bands have relied on ProTools to cheat in the studio, the result is a processed, mechanical, sterile sound. CLOVEN HOOF has gone back to its roots and delivered a classic tight-but-loose album, a live band playing real instruments in the studio which is a refreshing change in this day and age. Much more than a best-of collection, the opus is a testimony to the enduring power and passion of a group that has never compromised… CLOVEN HOOF are simply the definitive British power metal band!"

"The Definitive Part One" track listing:

01. Inquisitor
02. Nova Battlestar
03. The Gates of Gehenna
04. Astral Rider
05. Kiss of Evil
06. Mutilator
07. Reach for the Sky
08. Road of Eagles
09. Return of the Passover
10. Laying Down the Law
11. Mistress of the Forest

The song "Mutilator" is a taster off the forthcoming album "Throne of Damnation" that will be released towards the end of 2008.

Watch CLOVEN HOOF performing live at the British Steel Festival 2007:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).