CLASSIC ROCK ROLL OF HONOUR Awards: Winners Announced

The Classic Rock Roll Of Honour, Classic Rock magazine's inaugural annual award ceremony, takes place tonight (Oct. 4) at London's Café De Paris. Unlike other honours evenings in the heavily crowded calendar of events, the Classic Rock Roll of Honour will take a unique approach to the Living Legend Award. This year being awarded to MOTÖRHEAD's Lemmy Kilmister — to coincide with his 60th birthday and the 30th anniversary of MOTÖRHEAD — an entire portion of the evening will be dedicated to Lemmy, including video messages from a host of stars and fans and a very special guest to present him with his award. Other winners include MOTT THE HOOPLE's Ian Hunter, who is flying in from the States especially, Billy Idol for the "Comeback of the Year" award and the late Tommy Vance who has been honoured with the "Inspiration" award. Tommy's wife, Cookie Hope Weston, will be in attendance tonight to collect his award and say a few words. Legendary loony Arthur Brown will be attending to receive the "Showman Award" as the original inspiration behind a multitude of other bands, including KISS. And one of U.K. rock's finest bands, DEEP PURPLE, will be honoured with the "Classic Album" award for their seminal 1970 album "Deep Purple In Rock". Full winners details are as follows:

Best New Band: THE ANSWER
Comeback of the Year: BILLY IDOL
Classic Songwriter: Ian Hunter (MOTT THE HOOPLE)
V.I.P.: Neil Warnock (The Agency)
Inspiration: Tommy Vance
Classic Album: DEEP PURPLE for "In Rock"
Living Legend: Lemmy Kilmister

As well as the prestigious nine awards, there will also be a brief run-down of the winners from the Classic Rock Roll of Honour Readers' Awards. Categories included Album of the Year, Band of the Year, Best Reissue, Classic Rock Collection, DVD of the Year and Classic Rock Event.

"These winners are some of the bands and artists that built rock 'n' roll," commented Scott Rowley, Classic Rock magazine's Editor-in-Chief. "It's not about being trendy or having your image approved by Simon Cowell — these are guys who changed the way people thought about rock music, from the crazy showmanship of Arthur Brown to high voltage rock of DEEP PURPLE and MOTÖRHEAD. People can't even remember the name of the guy who won the last 'Pop Idol' — but these guys wrote the songs that have soundtracking our lives — and we'll still be listening to them in 20 years' time."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).