CHIMAIRA: Two New Songs Released Via iTunes

Two brand new songs from Cleveland, Ohio metallers CHIMAIRA "Trigger Finger" and "Born In Blood" (featuring a guest appearance by Phil Bozeman of WHITECHAPEL) have been made available through iTunes. Both cuts come off CHIMAIRA's new album, entitled "The Age of Hell", which will be released August 26 in Germany and August 29 in the United Kingdom, Australia and the rest of Europe via Long Branch Records. The CD will be made available in North America through eOne Music.

"The Age of Hell" track listing:

01. The Age Of Hell
02. Clockwork
03. Losing My Mind
04. Time Is Running Out
05. Year Of The Snake
06. Beyond The Grave
07. Born In Blood (feat. Phil Bozeman)
08. Stoma
09. Powerless
10. Trigger Finger
11. Scapegoat
12. Sa?sara (feat. Emil Werstler)

CHIMAIRA vocalist Mark Hunter recently spoke to AOL's Noisecreep about "The Age Of Hell" and the band's recent lineup changes.

"Last year we did the [Rockstar Energy Drink] Mayhem Festival, which was an amazing opportunity for us, and I had a great time doing those shows," Hunter explained. "But somewhere in between, we all started taking different directions in our personal lives. It's like any relationship, really. I think after 12 years of playing in a band together you start experiencing things that you don't enjoy anymore. It just doesn't seem worth it to carry on like that. Even though we had just finished a big tour, we started feeling like that. It became a drag."

He continued, "Musically speaking, we felt that we needed to make something truly special this time out. It got frustrating when we weren't getting the same feedback from the drummer [Andols Herrick] we had at the time. We brought it up to him and we didn't like how the conversation went. So from there we decided it was best if we just parted ways with each other. Jim [LaMarca, bassist] quit late in 2010. If that weren't enough, the next thing I know our keyboardist [Chris Spicuzza] left and we're down to three members left out of a six-piece band. And we have to go into the studio [laughs]."

CHIMAIRA 2011 is:

Mark Hunter - Vocals
Rob Arnold - Guitar
Matt DeVries - Guitar
Emil Werstler (DAATH) - Bass
Sean Zatorsky (DAATH) - Keyboards/Samples
Austin D'Amond (BLEED THE SKY, THE ELITE) Drums

Although D'Amond is sitting behind the kit for all of CHIMAIRA's current shows, the drum tracks on "The Age Of Hell" were laid down by the CD's producer, Ben Schigel, who has previously worked with DROWNING POOL and WALLS OF JERICHO, among others. The effort was mixed by Chris "Zeuss" Harris (HATEBREED, SHADOWS FALL, MURDERDOLLS, 3 INCHES OF BLOOD).

CHIMAIRA spent several days last month filming a new music video and DVD, to be released in connection with "The Age Of Hell".

Check out photos from the shoot at the group's Facebook page.

Photo credit: Todd Bell


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).