CASTLE: 'Blacklands' Video Released

"Blacklands", the new video from San Francisco doom-tinged metallers CASTLE, can be seen below. The clip was directed by Jaan Silmberg for Toronto-based Pistoltrixx.

"Blacklands" is the title track of CASTLE's sophomore album, which is scheduled for an April 28 European release via Germany's Ván Records. The artwork for the CD, created by Russian artist Denis Forkas and entitled "Monstrous Goat Cauldron", can be seen below. The follow-up to last year's highly acclaimed debut "In Witch Order" was recorded at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland with producer Billy Anderson (NEUROSIS, EYEHATEGOD, SLEEP).

"Blacklands" track listing:

01. Ever Hunter
02. Corpse Candles
03. Storm Below the Mountain
04. Blacklands
05. Curses of the Priests
06. Venus Pentagram
07. Alcatraz
08. Dying Breed

CASTLE guitarist and songwriter Mat Davis stated about the new album, "It's an altogether different beast to 'In Witch Order'. The debut took five years start-to-finish, whereas the new one was done relatively quickly, in six months. It was deliberate on our part to do it like that. We wanted to have a live feel and an edginess to the album and I think we got that. It sounds bigger and hits harder."

CASTLE's current lineup is as follows:

Elizabeth Blackwell - Vocals, Bass
Mat Davis - Guitar, Vocals
Al McCartney - Drums

CASTLE will tour with labelmates VERDUNKELN and YEAR OF THE GOAT at select shows across Germany, The Netherlands and Belgium this May.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).