CANDLEMASS: New Album Cover Posted Online

The cover artwork for the new CANDLEMASS album, simply entitled "Candlemass", has been posted online at this location.

"Candlemass", due on May 2 via Nuclear Blast Records, was recorded in part at Polar studios (ABBA, GENESIS, LED ZEPPELIN) in Stockholm, Sweden and is said to be musically similar to the group's classic "Tales of Creation" and "Nightfall" albums.

"Candlemass" track listing:

01. Enemy (intro)
02. Black Dwarf
03. Seven Silver Keys
04. Assassin of the Light
05. Copernicus
06. The Man Who Fell from the Sky
07. Witches
08. Born In A Tank
09. Spellbreaker
10. The Day and the Night
11. Mars and Volcanoes (digipack bonus track)

Regarding the album's sound, Damien of the U.K.'s Terrorizer magazine recently told BLABBERMOUTH.NET, "'Candlemass' is darker in tone, and lacks the concept feel of some of the early works. It has been produced by Leif at the famous Polar Studios (LED ZEPPELIN, ABBA etc.) and sounds bang up to date while still retaining a classic metal atmosphere. Song wise, 'Witches' (from the recent best-of compilation) has been reworked, 'Black Dwarf' and 'Seven Silver Keys' open the album and are two of the most memorable and accessible songs the band have ever penned. The remainder include 'Assassin of the Light', 'The Man Who Fell From the Sky', 'The Day and the Night', and let me tell you this is some crushing, epic doom that will delight fans and smash the opposition."

(Thanks: Johan Sandstedt)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).