CANDLEMASS Mastermind LEIF EDLING To Release Solo Album Next Month

"Songs of Torment - Songs of Joy", the first solo album from CANDLEMASS and KRUX mastermind Leif Edling, is scheduled for release on March 10 via Candlelight Records.

Edling has always been unique in his songwriting, and "Songs of Torment - Songs of Joy" is, of course, no exception. The CD consists of eight monumental tracks, something Leif Edling calls minimalistic organ doom. It's slow and beautiful, but also black and epic like the album opener The Scar", and the colossal "It Is Not There". "Nautilus" is inspired by the Jules Verne classic "20,000 Leagues Under The Sea". And "On The Edge Of Time" is a poetic reflection over some old but fantastic HAWKWIND album cover art.

"Songs of Torment - Songs of Joy" was created in periods during the last year. Edling has nursed his moments of inspiration, which has lead to recording sessions in several different studios. Leif's vocals were laid down in mixer Stefan Fandén's bedroom, keyboard among colourful exotic fish in KRUX keyboardist Carl Westholm's studio, and bass and drums (by TIAMAT's Lars Sköld) in a more traditional studio environment. The guitars on the CD were tracked by Björn Eriksson and Chris Laney.

"You don't need an expensive studio to make cool music. Some friends and a creative perspective is enough," says Leif.

"Songs of Torment - Songs of Joy" track listing:

01. The Scar (05:55)
02. It Is Not There (04:26)
03. Angelic 'Til I Die (04:54)
04. On the Edge of Time (06:17)
05. Butterfly (00:57)
06. My Black Birthday (05:39)
07. Space Killer (05:40)
08. Nautilus (09:33)

Check out audio samples at


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).