CANDLEMASS Kicks Off First U.S. Tour In 17 Years; Setlist Revealed

Swedish doom metal legends CANDLEMASS kicked off their first U.S. tour in 17 years last night (Monday, May 19) at Jaxx in West Springfield, Virginia.

The group's setlist was as follows:

01. March Funebre (intro)
02. Well of Souls
03. Mirror Mirror
04. Solitude
05. Emperor of the Void
06. Devil Seed
07. Dark Are the Veils of Death
08. Crystal Ball
09. At the Gallows End
10. Of Stars and Smoke
11. A Sorcerer's Pledge
12. Black Dwarf
13. Samarithan

Tonight's (May 20) CANDLEMASS' concert at B.B. King Blues Club & Grill in New York City will be filmed for future DVD release. No further details are currently available.

As previously reported, CANDLEMASS recently spent time in the studio recording a new EP, "Lucfer Rising", for a tentative Septeber release via Nuclear Blast Records. It will include two brand new tracks "Lucifer Rising" and "The White God" plus a whole bunch of live tracks from the previous tour. A new album will be recorded in the fall for a spring 2009 release.

In other news, the following CANDLEMASS and CANDLEMASS-related albums are being re-released in 2008 on Snapper/Peaceville:

* "Dactylis Glomerata" (1998) + ABSTRAKT ALGEBRA 2: May 26
* "From the 13th Sun" (1999) (w/ bonus tracks "Oil", "Nimis", "Rock 'n' Roll"): June 23
* "Live" (1990) (w/ bonus audio disc recorded at Dynamo Open Air 1988): August 11

CANDLEMASS' latest album, "King of the Grey Islands", was released June 22, 2007 via Nuclear Blast Records.

The group's guitarist, Mats "Mappe" Bjrkman, was recently sentenced to two years in a Swedish prison for grand theft. The musician was convicted of stealing CDs worth approximately $490,000 from the distribution warehouse of Entertainment Network Scandinavia AB, where he and an accomplice shipped the CDs to Stockholm retail outlets. He has since appealed the sentence.

CANDLEMASS live in Stockholm (2007):

(Thanks: Jay a.k.a Astennu)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).