CANDLEMASS Joined By OPETH, Ex-BLACK SABBATH Members At Anniversary Gig; Video Available

Legendary Swedish doomsters CANDLEMASS celebrated their 20th anniversary with a huge party at Stockholm's Kolingsborg last night (Saturday, March 31). CANDLEMASS performed with no less than seven (!) different vocalists — including the band's former singers Johan Langquist and Tomas Vikström, plus the group's latest addition, Robert Lowe of SOLITUDE AETURNUS. The complete list of vocalists that performed with the band last night is as follows:

Johan Langquist (ex-CANDLEMASS)
Tomas Vikström (ex-CANDLEMASS)
Mikael Åkerfeldt (OPETH)
Tony Martin (ex-BLACK SABBATH)

The group's setlist was as follows:

01. The Dying Illusion (Tomas Vikström)
02. Bewitched (Tomas Vikström)
03. Dark are the Veils of Death (Tomas Vikström)
04. Where the Runes Still Speak (Tomas Vikström)
05. Ebony Throne (Tomas Vikström)
06. Well of Souls (Janne Christoffersson)
07. Black Dwarf (Mats Levén)
08. At the Gallows End (Mikael Åkerfeldt)
09. [New Song] (Robert Lowe)
10. Samarithan (Robert Lowe)
11. Mirror Mirror (Robert Lowe)
12. Crystal Ball (Johan Langquist)
12. Demon's Gate (Johan Langquist)
13. Under the Oak (Johan Langquist)
14. A Sorcerer's Pledge (Johan Langquist)
15. Witches (Tony Martin)
16. Bullfest (Tomas Vikström)
17. Solitude (Langquist/Vikström/Lowe)

Check out video footage from last night's gig at YouTube.

Robert is currently laying down vocal tracks for CANDLEMASS' new album, "King of the Grey Islands", due on June 22 via Nuclear Blast Records.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).