CANDLEMASS: 'Epicus Doomicus Metallicus' To Be Re-Released As Special Double-Disc CD

Peaceville Records will celebrate the 25th anniversary of CANDLEMASS' classic debut album, "Epicus Doomicus Metallicus", by re-releasing it on May 14 as a special double-disc CD.

"Epicus Doomicus Metallicus" is a true classic. Heavy metal riffs blended with almost neo-classical touches, plus some theatrical elements bringing to mind bands like MERCYFUL FATE (thought to be another influence). All in all, this is considered one of the definitive doom metal releases.

"Epicus" was recorded at Thunderload Studios in 1986 and was released later that same year. The vocals were handled by Johan Längqvist, before the iconic vocalist Messiah Marcolin became a solid fixture in the band until the early Nineties.

CANDLEMASS instantly became a great inspiration to countless metal bands upon the album’s release in 1986; a time when thrash metal, not doom, was fast becoming the dominant style in both Europe and the U.S. Bands such as PARADISE LOST and MY DYING BRIDE to this day rate the album among their favorite albums ever.

This edition of "Epicus" includes a special commentary disc with founding member Leif Edling, recorded early 2011, discussing his memories and inspirations of the writing and recording process whilst the tracks play. The booklet also contains liner notes from the band, including an introduction from Aaron Stainthorpe of MY DYING BRIDE.

CD Disc 1

01. Solitude
02. Demon’s Gate
03. Crystal Ball
04. Black Stone Wielder
05. Under The Oak
06. A Sorcerer's Pledge

CD Disc 2:

All above tracks with commentary by Leif Edling

To pre-order the album, go to this location.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).