STRATOVARIUS singer Timo Kotipelto and former SONATA ARCTICA guitarist Jani Liimatainen have joined forces in a new band called CAIN'S OFFERING. The group's debut album, "Gather The Faithful", will be released on August 28 in Europe and September 11 in North America via Frontiers Records.

The band is the new artistic creation of Jani Liimatainen, the guitarist/songwriter who was previously in SONATA ARCTICA and ALTARIA. In 2007, Jani parted ways with SONATA ARCTICA, a band he co-founded in 1996 and to which he devoted his time and energy for more than 10 years. Following his departure from one of Finland's biggest music exports in recent years, all eyes were set upon his newest creation: CAIN'S OFFERING.

"After parting ways with SONATA ARCTICA, I took a leave of absence from the metal circles, feeling that I had not much to offer at the time and that I needed a break to charge my batteries," states Liimatainen. "After a year or so, the hunger to play metal returned with a vengeance, and so I decided to put together a new group of my own. I gave a call to a few friends, and voila: CAIN'S OFFERING! CAIN'S OFFERING is a collaboration of a world-class musicians and one of the best singers in the world of heavy metal. All of these guys are handpicked from the very best the Finnish metal scene has to offer and I'm very proud to have them join me in this band."


Timo Kotipelto (STRATOVARIUS, KOTIPELTO) - Vocals
Jani Liimatainen (ex-SONATA ARCTICA) - Guitar
Mikko Harkin (SOLUTION.45, MEHIDA, ex-SONATA ARCTICA) - Keyboards
Jukka Koskinen (ex-NORTHER, WINTERSUN) - Bass
Jani Hurula (PAUL DI'ANNO) - Drums

Drawing its musical influence from both the classic hard rock scene, the fast-paced European power metal and a very modern heavy metal sound, CAIN'S OFFERING is, just as expected, a perfect example of today's living and breathing Finnish music scene.

"To me, CAIN'S OFFERING is a perfect combination of the things I value in music: beautiful melodies, emotions, top-notch musicianship and some kick-ass metal!" says Liimatainen. "Basically it represents music as I like to hear it; every element is in its rightful place. I feel that what we came up with has all the traditional values, that so many metal-heads, myself included, hold so dear, but with a fresh new twist to it. Lyrically the songs deal with very basic, almost primal emotions and subjects most people will be able to relate to … and … there are absolutely no dragons allowed."

"Gather The Faithful" track listing:

01. My Queen Of Winter
02. More Than Friends
03. Oceans Of Regret
04. Gather The Faithful
05. Into The Blue
06. Dawn Of Solace
07. Thorn In My Side
08. Morpheus In A Masquerade
09. Stolen Waters
10. Elegantly Broken

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).