BORKNAGAR: New Song Posted Online

A brand new BORKNAGAR track, entitled "Earth Imagery", has been made available for streaming at this location. The song comes off the Norwegian avant-garde black metal band's upcoming acoustic album, "Origin", due on October 31 via Century Media Records (one day earlier internationally).

Commented mainman Oystein G. Brun: "The wooden, organic presence in our music has always been the very essence of our musical expression through the years. The spark that lit the torch, one winter night back in 1994, was the magical feeling that just grabbed me when I tried out some rather untraditional chords on my new-bought acoustic guitar. Since then I have always based my songwriting on acoustic themes and there is few riffs throughout the years that actually have not been written on acoustic guitars in the first place.

"With our first six albums we have been on a long musical journey, taking a huge step further each time. Progression has been crucial to the whole existence of the band and we have always been striving to challenge musical boundaries for ourselves and others.

"Our sixth album, 'Epic', was a massive release in many aspects. The album was an hour long, tons of arrangements and the lyrics had an intricate character.

"This time around we just felt the urge to bring everything really down to earth and make an album which fully blooms as a manifest of our musical origin. Based on this, we put ourselves in the challenging position to make a 100% acoustic album.

"The idea for this album was spawned already back in 2001, but at that time we planned to just make an album with acoustic re-makes of already released material. The idea evolved and in 2004 I started to work on some new material with the intention to keep it acoustic.

"The summer of 2005 we started to record the album at Toproom studio in Norway with our engineer and co-producer Børge Finstad. The album was recorded in different locations and sporadically throughout 2005 and the first half of 2006. We were lucky to involve some top-notch musicians to finish the production of the album. Again Mr. Tiwaz contributed with his rumbling wizardry. Sareeta (violin) and Thomas Nilsson (cello) helped us to obtain the genuine wooden string sound that the album craved, and Norwegian flute-icon Steinar Ofsdal (flutes and recorders) has added mystic and enchanting atmospheres into the organic framework.

"We are truly proud to lay another milestone in our musical universe and believe that 'Earth Imagery' is a fine representative for the album. 'Earth Imagery' is one of my personal favourites on this album and even without the blast speed, screaming vocals and distorted guitars(this time around) I am sure it will hit you in the face as one of our most striking efforts so far. Enjoy!"

"Origin" track listing:

01. Earth Imagery (4:52)
02. Grains (3:42)
03. Oceans Rise (6:05)
04. Signs (1:17)
05. White (4:45)
06. Cynosure (2:55)
07. The Human Nature (4:48)
08. Acclimation (4:30)
09. The Spirit of Nature (3:00)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).