BLACKWOOD CREEK Debut Due In December

Frontiers Records will release BLACKWOOD CREEK's self-titled debut album on December 4, 2009 in Europe and January 12, 2010 in the USA.

BLACKWOOD CREEK is a Kip Winger side project put together with his brother Nate on drums and childhood friend Peter Fletcher on guitar.

It all actually started in 1969 in Littleton, Colorado when a 7-year-old Kip Winger walked up to Peter Fletcher and said, "Hey, you got big lips, you wanna fight?" Fletcher then stood up and towered over Winger, at which point they started a band instead! They reconvened in the basement of the Wingers house where Kip's older brother Nate was pounding on the drums. BLACKWOOD CREEK was born.

They went on to play every junior high and high school and eventually night clubs in their path, performing songs by their favorite bands like GRAND FUNK RAILROAD, BLACK SABBATH, LYNYRD SKYNYRD, LED ZEPPELIN and their original songs which they were particularly passionate about, to the point of getting fired from jobs for not playing enough popular material.

In 1980 they went their separate ways. Nate and Fletcher went to Los Angeles, Kip went to New York, where he landed a gig with ALICE COOPER and then went on to form WINGER. Nate recorded with many bands in L.A., including RATT, KIX, EUROPE. Fletcher formed the PIGMY LOVE CIRCUS, including drummer Danny Carey from TOOL.

BLACKWOOD CREEK reformed in 2007 to record 11 new songs. It's obvious that the chemistry is still rock solid. These 11 tracks embody 40 years of blood, sweat and tears of three musicians who started out together, went their separate ways and reform on common ground.

"Blackwood Creek" track listing:

01. Out In Outer Space
02. Nothing But The Sun
03. Your Revolution
04. Dead Stung
05. After Your Heart
06. Albatross
07. Jimmy And Georgia
08. Rack Of Greed
09. Love Inspector
10. Joy Ride
11. Wooden Shoe

For more information, visit


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).