BIGELF: 'Hex' To Receive U.S. Release

Psychedelic rock act BIGELF has set an October 30 North American release date for its cult, underground album "Hex". Recorded in 2003, "Hex" will now be available domestically for the first time ever via the Custard label.

Flaunting a sound that interfuses all the best elements from the late '60s / early '70s rock movement, BIGELF creates timeless songs that drip with surging guitar riffs, remarkable Hammond organ playing and some of the best vocal harmonies heard this side of Abbey Road. Often described as "a cross between PINK FLOYD and BLACK SABBATH" and "The Evil BEATLES", BIGELF channels all of its influences and delivers music that shares an appeal with metal enthusiasts, classic hard rock fans and vintage prog-heads alike. BIGELF has firmly established its own identity through years of developing and modifying their own DNA into a powerful new kind of music in the tradition of the great rock acts from the past and is a cutting edge, musical experience unlike anything else out there today.

Originally released via the EastWest (Warner) label, "Hex" is BIGELF's masterwork. Recorded using only vintage equipment, the album charted on the Scandinavian Top 10 upon its European-only 2003 release and saw shining critical acclaim for its diabolically-heavy pop rife with epic guitars, maniacal keyboards and rich, sophisticated harmonies laid over a foundation of hallucinatory hard rock. Among the album's stand out moments is "Rock & Roll Contract", a superb pop song with an infectious hook and great lyrics that slam a fist down upon the corporate rock engine, "Falling Bombs" with its spectacular synth soloing and the dark, power chord-driven opener "Mad Hatter".

On the Stateside release of "Hex", BIGELF frontman/keyboardist Damon Fox explains, "Whenever I talk about 'Hex' I like to quote the fans. An Elfhead in Brazil once told me, 'Without bands like BIGELF there will be no future. Rock needs heart, strength and open minds. The masters of the past have shown us the way. It's easy, we just need to be honest and do the right thing." Wow, I couldn't of said it better myself." He continues, "People today want real music. They're almost dying for it. We're prepared to bring it and change people's lives just like PINK FLOYD and LED ZEPPELIN did 30 years ago. I'm serious."

"Hex" track listing:

01. Madhatter
02. Bats in the Belfry II
03. Pain Killers
04. Disappear
05. Rock & Roll Contract
06. Sunshine Suicide
07. Falling Bombs
08. Black Moth
09. Carry the Load
10. Burning Bridges
11. Bats in the Belfry I
12. $

BIGELF most recently teamed up with pop superstar CHRISTINA AGUILERA to record a cover of the JOHN LENNONclassic "Mother" for the major benefit-album project "Instant Karma: The Amnesty International Campaign to Save Darfur". The album features reinterpretations of the ex-Beatle's entire post-band catalog and also featured contributions from THE FLAMING LIPS, R.E.M., BLACK EYED PEAS, AEROSMITH and U2.

BIGELF's mesmerizing live performances — boasting theatrics reminiscent of rock shows from the '70s — have seen praise from rock music luminaries such as former NIRVANA / current FOO FIGHTERS front man Dave Grohl and BLACK CROWES head-honcho Chris Robinson. The band also attracted the attention of metal guru Serj Tankian of SYSTEM OF A DOWN, who released BIGELF's second record, "Money Machine", through his label Serjical Strike Records.

BIGELF is currently recording a new album to be released in the spring of 2008 via Custard. An in-studio montage featuring images of the band recording new material can be viewed below.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).