BAD RELIGION Bassist Interviewed At Germany's ROCK AM RING; Video Available

Rebel TV conducted an interview with bassist Jay Bentley of California punk legends BAD RELIGION at this year's Rock am Ring festival, which took place June 6-7 in Nrburgring, Germany. Watch the four-minute chat below.

BAD RELIGION is scheduled to enter the studio next spring to record its new studio album. Bentley said in a recent interview that guitarist Brett Gurewitz has already written all the material for the CD and that the band is aiming for a June 2009 release. Jay also said that frontman Greg Graffin is set to teach at UCLA from January through March 2009 before the band could start work on the new effort.

BAD RELIGION released its latest album, "New Maps of Hell", on July 10, 2007. The follow-up to 2004's "The Empire Strikes First" was recorded at Grand Master Studios in Los Angeles, California with Grammy-nominated producer Joe Barresi (TOOL, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, WEEZER). The band plans to issue a deluxe edition of "New Maps of Hell" on July 8, featuring the original album bolstered with seven acoustic tracks and a DVD. Frontman Graffin and guitarist Gurewitz recently chatted with Rolling Stone about the project and the future of the music industry. Graffin was also recently the recipient of the Rushdie Award for Cultural Humanism from Harvard University.

The deluxe version of "New Maps of Hell" includes the original 16-song CD, along with seven new acoustic tracks recorded by principal songwriters Greg Graffin (vocals) and Brett Gurewitz (guitars). Three of the acoustic songs are new, written specifically for this release; the other four tracks are new acoustic versions of BR classics such as 2004's hit song "Sorrow" and the perennial favorite "Skyscraper". Graffin and Gurewitz formed the idea of recording the EP to illustrate how they write songs: generally writing a song on just an acoustic guitar or piano, and then crafting it into the electrified scorchers they ultimately become later with the band.

Additionally, the release includes a DVD with an hour-long live performance that has never been seen before, along with music videos for "New Maps of Hell"'s two singles "Honest Goodbye" and "New Dark Ages", behind-the-scenes footage of Brett and Greg during the recording of the acoustic EP and more.

The all-new packaging pays homage to the band's hometown of Los Angeles, but unmasks the city with a gritty reality not usually associated with Tinseltown. Shot in the striking format of high dynamic range photography by local fine arts photographer Dave Bollock, the deluxe release also features a booklet of Bollock's work entitled "New Maps of Hell - City of Angels" and classic BAD RELIGION posters.

Voted THE "Old School Band who Still Rock" by Alternative Press readers, BAD RELIGION are giving back to the fans who have supported them in their over two-decade long career with "New Maps of Hell" deluxe edition.

"New Maps of Hell" (Deluxe Edition) - Disc 1 (CD):

01. 52 Seconds - 0:58
02. Heroes & Martyrs - 1:26
03. Germs of Perfection - 1:28
04. New Dark Ages - 2:48
05. Requiem for Dissent - 2:08
06. Before You Die - 2:35
07. Honest Goodbye - 2:52
08. Dearly Beloved - 2:20
09. Grains of Wrath - 3:01
10. Murder - 1:19
11. Scrutiny - 2:37
12. Prodigal Son - 3:08
13. The Grand Delusion - 2:11
14. Lost Pilgrim - 2:28
15. Submission Complete - 3:41
16. Fields of Mars - 3:38

Acoustic Tracks

17. Won't Somebody - 3:08
18. Adam's Atoms - 2:37
19. Sorrow - 3:12
20. God Song - 2:40
21. Dearly Beloved - 2:37
22. Chronophobia - 1:55
23. Skyscraper - 3:00

"New Maps of Hell" (Deluxe Edition) - Disc 2 (DVD):

* The Making of The Acoustic EP
* Myspace and The List Present Bad Religion Live In Las Vegas
* "New Dark Ages" Music Video
* "Honest Goodbye" Music Video
* The Making of "New Maps of Hell" EPK


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).