AXIS OF DESPAIR Feat. NASUM, COLDWORKER Members: 'Contempt For Man' Album Due In July

AXIS OF DESPAIR Feat. NASUM, COLDWORKER Members: 'Contempt For Man' Album Due In July

As Swedish grindcore outfit AXIS OF DESPAIR — formed by current and former members of NASUM, COLDWORKER, INFANTICIDE, VOLTURYON, LIVET SOM INSATS, NERVGIFT, OVERTORTURE, and more — prepares its "Contempt For Man" debut full-length for July release through Southern Lord, two new tracks have been issued alongside preorders for the record.

AXIS OF DESPAIR's "Contempt For Man" propels with twenty super-charged, raging songs, clocking in around the half-hour mark. The album surges with blasting percussion delivered with savage force, yet every hit finding its target with pinpoint accuracy. The blazing, hook-laden riffs leave charred scars in their path, while lyrically the band unloads their noncompliance with humanity's declining ways. "Contempt For Man" was recorded by drummer Anders Jakobson at Soundlab Studios and in the band's rehearsal room summer 2017, mixed at Studio Ülgnor by Johan Berglund, and completed with artwork by Paul Romano (MASTODON, CIRCLE, HATE ETERNAL).

AXIS OF DESPAIR's "The Wolven Law" and "Crush The Empire" are now streaming alongside the previously released "A Life Of Ceaseless Grind".

Southern Lord will release "Contempt For Man" on LP, CD, and digital formats on July 27.

AXIS OF DESPAIR will perform at Obscene Extreme 2018 in Czech Republic on July 19, with more live actions to follow.

AXIS OF DESPAIR was formed in late 2013 by former COLDWORKER members Joel Fornbrant (vocals), Oskar Pålsson (bass) and Anders Jakobson (drums). The lineup was completed by guitarist Kristofer Jankarls (also in LIVET SOM INSATS) a few months later and the quartet focused on songwriting. The first recording took place in the spring of 2015 and the twelve tracks were released on the two seven-inch EPs — "Time And Again", released via Selfmadegod Records, and "Mankind Crawls", a co-release through Give Praise Records and Spela Snabbare Records. Following both EPs and several live shows, AXIS OF DESPAIR set to work on new material, striving to create a striking grindcore album with an aggressive, yet diverse selection of strong songs. The writing process was spread out over a year until the band went into the studio and begun the recordings in the summer of 2017, now set to arrive in the form of their debut album, "Contempt For Man".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).