AVENGED SEVENFOLD's version of PANTERA's "Walk" (mp3 clip) and KILLSWITCH ENGAGE's take on DIO's "Holy Diver" (mp3 clip) are among the exclusive tracks available on a special CD accompanying Kerrang!'s 25th anniversary issue, which hit the newsstands in the U.K. this past Wednesday (May 31). Entitled "High Voltage", the 15-track disc is made up of classic rock and metal songs covered by contemporary bands, with 10 of the tracks recorded exclusively for the CD.

"After the phenomenal response we got from our 'Re-Mastered' album, we knew we had to put together an equally special CD for our 25th birthday," said K! editor Paul Brannigan. "The songs you'll hear on 'High Voltage' are the foundations upon which Kerrang! built its reputation as 'the rock bible'. This CD is our way of uniting Kerrang!'s past, present and future."

The track listing is as follows:

01. FALL OUT BOY - "Start Today" (originally by GORILLA BISCUITS)
02. AIDEN - "Die, Die My Darling" (originally by THE MISFITS)*
03. AVENGED SEVENFOLD - "Walk" (originally by PANTERA)*
04. KILLSWITCH ENGAGE - "Holy Diver" (originally by DIO)*
05. BIFFY CLYRO - "Buddy Holly" (originally by WEEZER)*
06. FIGHTSTAR - "My Own Summer (Shove It)" (originally by DEFTONES)*
07. THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN - "Jesus Christ Pose" (originally by SOUNDGARDEN)*
08. STILL REMAINS - "Head Like A Hole" (originally by NINE INCH NAILS)*
09. DEFTONES - "Simple Man" (originally by LYNYRD SKYNYRD)
10. THE ANSWER - "Sweet Emotion" (originally by AEROSMITH)*
11. BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE - "Crazy Train" (originally by OZZY OSBOURNE)*
12. 36 CRAZYFISTS - "Digging The Grave" (originally by FAITH NO MORE)*
13. ARCH ENEMY - "Symphony Of Destruction" (originally by MEGADETH)
14. ATREYU - "You Give Love A Bad Name" (originally by BON JOVI)
15. NOFX - "Straight Edge" (originally by MINOR THREAT)

* Recorded exclusively for Kerrang!

Check out audio samples of all 15 tracks at Kerrang.com.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).