ARTILLERY: Video Footage From The Studio Posted Online

Danish thrash metal veterans ARTILLERY have completed work on their sixth album, "My Blood", at Medley Studios in Copenhagen for a March 21 European release via Metal Mind Productions (April 5 in the U.S. through MVD and March 9 in Japan via King Records). 14 songs were laid down during the sessions — 10 brand new tracks, a remake of "Ain't Giving In" (from 1992's "Mind Factory" demo) and three bonus tracks which are all new versions of timeless classics from the 1985 album "Fear Of Tomorrow" ("The Eternal War", "The Almighty" and "Show Your Hate").

A three-and-a-half-minute video clip featuring behind-the-scenes footage from the recording sessions for the new album can be viewed below.

"My Blood" will feature the following songs, among others:

* The Great Satan

Søren Adamsen (vocals): "It's a song about the decadence of the western society and evil empires all around the world."

* Monster

Søren Adamsen: "A song about serial killers. None in particular."

* Death Is An Illusion

Søren Adamsen: "A track about life and death."

* The End Of Eternity

Søren Adamsen: "Dealing with depression and thoughts about starting a new life."

* Mi Sangre

Søren Adamsen: "It's about my son. It's a seven-and-a-half-minute song, almost an epic endeavor."

* Concealed In The Dark

Søren Adamsen: "Two words — David Sharp. Go search for it on the Internet; it's an interesting story."

* Dark Days

Søren Adamsen: "It's about the change in the climate."

* Warrior Blood

Søren Adamsen: "A song about fighting. Soldiers, prize-fighters, people who are struggling with deadly diseases."

Regarding what fans can expect to hear on the new album, guitarist Michael Stützer says, "The sound is a bit more heavy than it was on 'When Death Comes'. The music is a mixture of our previous albums, 'When Death Comes' and 'By Inheritance', with a slight touch of 'Terror Squad' and 'Fear of Tomorrow' with some oriental pieces." Producer Søren Adamsen adds, "There is an almost rock´n roll feeling in some of the songs."

ARTILLERY's fifth album, "When Death Comes", was released in Europe on June 15, 2009 (via Metal Mind Productions) and in Japan on July 23, 2009 (King Records). The CD, which was issued in North America on August 11, 2009 (through MVD), was recorded at Medley with producer Søren Andersen.

Metal Mind Productions released ARTILLERY's "One Foot in the Grave, The Other One in the Trash" DVD on June 16, 2008 in Europe and August 5, 2008 in the USA (via MVD). According to a press release, the DVD features "a fantastic gig the thrash veterans gave at Metalmania Festival 2008. The outstanding guitar play of brothers Stützer, charismatic Carsten Nielsen's powerful drums and the uncompromising thrash energy of Søren Adamsen's voice ruthlessly hammered their way into the hearts of the headbangers assambled on that occasion.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).