CAMP FREDDY — the Los Angeles-based "jam" group featuring guitarists Dave Navarro (ex-JANE'S ADDICTION, RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS) and Billy Morrison (ex-THE CULT bassist, current CIRCUS DIABLO vocalist) alongside VELVET REVOLVER members Matt Sorum (drums) and Scott Weiland (vocals) — made an appearance at this year's Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah on January 19. The band played a short eight-song set at the exclusive party at The Village At The Yard and was joined on stage by Billy Duffy (THE CULT), Scott Ian (ANTHRAX), Cisco Adler and Nuno Bettencourt (EXTREME). By the last song in the set, audience members were joining the band onstage and taking their clothes off, despite outside temperatures of minus 8 degrees!

CAMP FREDDY's setlist was as follows:

01. 20th Century Boy
02. Jean Genie
03. Rain
04. Whole Lotta Love
05. All Right Now
06. God Save The Queen
07. Suffragette City
08. I Wanna Be Your Dog

CAMP FREDDY will play a seven-song set at a benefit show in Los Angeles on March 14 at The Knitting Factory. According to Morrison, "the charity is called Teen Project, a foundation that is looking to build a sober college housing facility for teens coming out of the foster care system. Matt and Scott will be away with VELVET REVOLVER so we look forward to rocking a few tunes with Stephen Perkins [ex-JANE"S ADDICTION] behind the kit, and a few friends helping out with vocals and guitar. We do know that rock goddess Linda Perry [producer and fomer 4 NON BLONDES singer] will be performing herself, so maybe we can persuade her to do a song or two with us!!"

CAMP FREDDY has been in and out of the recording studio over the past few years recording what is expected to eventually be released as the band's debut album. Among the cuts that are set to appear on the effort are "20th Century Boy" (also featuring Steve Jones from THE SEX PISTOLS on lead guitar) and THIN LIZZY's "Jailbreak" (featuring ALICE IN CHAINS guitarist Jerry Cantrell on vocals and Billy Duffy [ex-THE CULT] on lead guitar). Other guest musicians include RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS drummer Chad Smith and singer Macy Gray.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).