ANTHRAX's 'Among The Living' Digitally Remastered And Expanded For CD+DVD Deluxe Edition

What many consider to be ANTHRAX's greatest album, 1987's "Among The Living", has been expanded with bonus tracks and a concert DVD, and digitally remastered for the first time, for the CD+DVD package "Among The Living (Deluxe Edition)" (Island/Megaforce/UMe), released November 10, 2009.

Issued simultaneously will be the two-CD set "Caught In A Mosh: BBC Live In Concert" (Island/Megaforce/UMe), which brings together 1987 U.K. concerts from the "Among The Living" world tour recorded at Hammersmith Odeon and the Donington festival. Making its U.S. debut, "Caught In A Mosh: BBC Live In Concert" was originally released internationally in 2007.

"Among The Living", originally produced by Eddie Kramer and ANTHRAX, was the band's third full-length album and featured the lineup of singer Joey Belladonna, lead guitarist Dan Spitz, rhythm guitarist Scott Ian, bassist Frank Bello and drummer Charlie Benante. Building on an underground following with signature tracks such as "I Am The Law", "Caught In A Mosh" and "Indians", the album catapulted ANTHRAX to widespread recognition and earned the group's first gold award. "Among The Living" also marked the height of the band's use of horror and comic book inspirations, with the title track and album cover image based on the Stephen King novel "The Stand", "A Skeleton In The Closet" on King's novella "Apt Pupil", and "I Am The Law" on the comic book character Judge Dredd.

Added for the new "Among The Living (Deluxe Edition)" version are previously unreleased studio outtakes of "Indians", "One World" and "Imitation Of Life", an instrumental of "I'm The Man", a live-in-Dallas 1987 version of "I Am The Law", and "Bud E Luv Bomb And Satan's Lounge Band", originally released as the "I Am The Law" b-side. The bonus DVD is the live-in-London concert film "Oidivnikufesin (N.F.V.)", which went gold when issued on video in 1987. "This record was done at a time when life was moving so fast for us, and I think the music reflects that pace. I really enjoyed going back into 1986/87 and found some great stuff in my vault I had forgot about. I think ANTHRAX fans will enjoy this remastered collection; the high end and low end is back as how it was intended to sound. Thrash metal is alive and well in 'Among The Living'," says drummer Charlie Benante.

"Among The Living (Deluxe Edition)" track listing:

Disc One (CD):

Original Album

01. Among The Living
02. Caught In A Mosh
03. I Am The Law
04. Efilnikufesin (N.F.L.)
05. A Skeleton In The Closet
06. Indians
07. One World
08. A.D.I./Horror Of It All
09. Imitations Of Life

Bonus Tracks

10. Indians (Alternate Lead)
11. One World (Alternate Take)
12. Imitation Of Life (Alternate Take)
13. Bud E Luv Bomb And Satan's Lounge Band
14. I Am The Law (Live in Dallas)
15. I'm The Man (Instrumental)

Disc Two (DVD):

"Oidivnikufesin (N.F.V.)"

Live in London 1987

01. Intro
02. Among The Living
03. Caught In A Mosh
04. Metal Thrashing Mad
05. I Am The Law
06. Madhouse
07. Indians
08. Medusa
09. Efilnikufesin (N.F.L.)
10. Armed And Dangerous
11. A.I.R. / I'm The Man / A.I.R.
12. Gung Ho

"Caught In A Mosh: BBC Live In Concert" track listing:

Disc One - Hammersmith Odeon February 15, 1987:

01. A.I.R.
02. Metal Thrashing Mad
03. Panic
04. The Enemy
05. I Am The Law
06. Madhouse
07. The Howling Furies
08. Medusa
09. Armed And Dangerous
10. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
11. God Save The Queen
12. Gung Ho

Disc Two - Donington Festival August 22, 1987:

01. Among The Living
02. Caught In The Mosh
03. Madhouse
04. I Am The Law
05. Medusa
06. Indians
07. God Save The Queen
08. A.I.R.
09. I'm The Man


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).