ANNEKE VAN GIERSBERGEN To Release 'Symphonized' Live Album In November

ANNEKE VAN GIERSBERGEN To Release 'Symphonized' Live Album In November

In May 2018, Anneke Van Giersbergen performed two career-spanning concerts with orchestral arrangements together with Residentie Orkest The Hague. Now those special concerts will be available for all to hear when they are released as "Symphonized", an 11-track live album due out on November 16.

Taking in material from across her career, she performs stunning versions of songs by VUUR, THE GENTLE STORM and THE GATHERING as well as solo material.

Anneke comments: "'Symphonized' was recorded last May in Dutch venues 013 (Tilburg) and Paard (The Hague), as I performed alongside the wonderful Residentie Orkest The Hague conducted by Arjan Tien. The orchestra is one of the leading Dutch symphony orchestras and regularly initiates cross-over projects.

"When artistic director Sven Arne Tepl invited me to create new renditions of songs I have previously recorded, I was immediately enthusiastic. I thought it was the perfect prelude to my 25-year anniversary next year, as I made my stage debut with THE GATHERING in 1994. The compelling arrangements were written by Marijn van Prooijen and Gijs Kramers. Instead of a band with additional symphonic accompaniment, we chose to solely use the instruments of the orchestra and I'm very proud of the result!"

The album will be available as CD digipak, gatefold 2LP + CD and as digital audio download.

"Symphonized" track listing:

01. Feel Alive
02. Amity (originally released by THE GATHERING)
03. Your Glorious Light Will Shine - Helsinki (originally released by VUUR)
04. Two Souls (originally released by LORRAINVILLE)
05. When I Am laid In Earth (aria by HENRY PURCELL)
06. Travel (originally released by THE GATHERING)
07. Zo Lief (unreleased song in Dutch)
08. You Will Never Change
09. Freedom - Rio (originally released by VUUR)
10. Forgotten (originally released by THE GATHERING)
11. Shores Of India (originally released by THE GENTLE STORM)


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).