ANATHEMA: Two New Albums On The Way

Britain's ANATHEMA has issued the following update:

"We have taken all of our recording equipment to a house in England where we have built a studio and begun the first of two records to be released this year. The recording has been going very well.

"This first record is a semi-acoustic recording of many of our most loved older tracks. This will be released on Peaceville Records. The working title is 'Temporary Peace'.

The songs to be included on 'Temporary Peace' are:

01. Angelica
02. Leave No Trace
03. Inner Silence
04. One Last Goodbye
05. Are You There
06. Fragile Dreams
07. A Natural Disaster
08. Temporary Peace
09. Flying

"The record will be a substantial work, arranged by Danny [Cavanagh] and performed and produced by the band, recorded and engineered by our own Les Smith, who was responsible for the recordings of 'Everything' and the other new songs released online last year. This will also feature the cello of Dave Wesling, who previously toured with Vincent and Danny in 2004 and is featured on the DVD 'A Moment In Time'. It may also include a reworking of one or two classic tracks from the very early days of ANATHEMA.

"In late winter/early spring, immediately following the recording of this semi-acoustic album, we will enter a studio to record the next full-length ANATHEMA album, which be produced by ANATHEMA and mixed by Steven Wilson, independently from a record company. Upon completion, the new album will be licensed around the world, giving us artistic and creative control and keeping the rights to the music in our own hands.

"All being well, you will see the release of two records from ANATHEMA this year. A semi acoustic classic tracks album, and a full-length new album.

"Then touring…"

A brand new ANATHEMA song entitled "Angels Walk Among Us" is available for download at this location (MP3, 18 MB).

A nine-minute video report featuring interview and performance footage shot during ANATHEMA's October 2007 tour of Turkey can be viewed below.

The MetalList webzine has uploaded video footage of ANATHEMA performing a new song, entitled "A Simple Mistake", on October 5, 2007 at the Tochka club in Moscow, Russia. Watch the clip below.

"A Simple Mistake" (live in Moscow, October 2007):


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).