ANATHEMA: New Album Title, Track Listing Revealed

ANATHEMA mastermind Daniel Cavanagh has issued the following update:

"We are well aware that for one reason or another, it has taken a long time for ANATHEMA to get to this place, but now we are ready. The album tracklist is decided. The rehearsals are going very well. Everything, quite literally, is falling into place.

"What I love about this record is the character it seems to have. The songs belong together. There is purpose and focus. And it shines. Brightly.

"The message is one of hope. Of the absolute certainty that there is a better way. There is always a better way. There is always a solution, a purpose. It only remains for us to be open to it. To bring ourselves back into harmony with a larger system. That harmony begins by bringing ourselves back into balance within ourselves. All the ancient sages and wise people have said it. Change starts with the individual.

"Some of these songs are a little more melancholy, and some of them are euphoric. They all have one thing in common in that they are all very much from the heart, and they are dripping with emotion.

"This is the greatest record we have ever made. I know it in my heart. All we need do now is find the right engineer/producer and the right studio? And to remain focused. To this end, we have decided to hire a house in the country for the first month of next year to 'live' this record before we record. We will play every day and we will leave no stone unturned in pursuit of brilliance. Of a new way to express these feelings.

"I put my faith that the greater mind can bring everything into place for us to make this record. A record that will certainly affect some people. I do not wish to sound pretentious but I know it will change lives. This is what music does. It moves people in a way no other form of art does.

"Because our inspiration is of a pure source, and because our intentions are genuinely to reach people and open them up to new ways of feeling and thinking, I have every faith that whatever we need to make this happen will come to us."

"Everything" track listing:

01. Thin Air (Ann Further)
02. Bricks (working title)
03. Lightning Song
04. Sunlight
05. Get Off. Get Out. (working title)
06. Angels Walk Among Us
07. Everything
08. A Simple Mistake
09. Voodoo (working title)
10. No One Is Free (working title)
11. Paradigm Shift
12. Hindsight

Added Daniel Cavanagh: "There will be another free song online before the release, not from the album, and we are looking into ways to thank all the people who kindly made donations for dowloading the other tracks. This small but not insignifcant amount of money will pay for our rental of a house to complete the writing and other little expenses. Thank you all. We will not let you down."

Metal Mind Productions released a new ANATHEMA DVD, entitled "A Moment in Time", on June 19 in Europe (July 18 in the U.S.). The main part of DVD was recorded in Poland at the famous Metal Mania Festival 2006 (the biggest hard rock/metal festival in Eastern Europe). The set list included their best songs plus a cover of PINK FLOYD's "Comfortably Numb". The guest performance was done by a string quartet. Bonus material includes live video footage, video clips, and a documentary. The DVD will be available also in a limited edition with bonus audio CD.

ANATHEMA is currently unsigned as a result of having been dropped by BMG/Zomba after its previous label, Music For Nations, was folded into parent company Zomba Records Group (the world's largest independent music group).


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).