AMEBIX To Release 'Knights Of The Black Sun' Single

Cult British underground heavyweights AMEBIX re-emerge from the darkness to announce the release of a new single, their first new material for almost 24 years. The song is entitled "Knights Of The Black Sun" and will be made available on June 3. A limited-edition 12-inch vinyl single will be issued on Amebix Records, in conjunction with Profane Existence. The digital download will be available through Amebix Records/Easyaction.

"Knights Of The Black Sun" was recorded at The Lodge Studios in Northampton and was engineered and produced by AMEBIX drummer Roy Mayorga (NAUSEA, SOULFLY, STONE SOUR). To complement the track, there will be a spectacular animation, the work of animation artist Andy Lefton and director Fin McAteer. The animation will be available as a free HD download to accompany the digital release, on pre-sale only. It will also be given as a free download card to accompany the vinyl. Singer/bassist Rob Miller (a.k.a. The Baron) described the release in a recent interview as "a coming of age for our music. This whole body of work has been not only about music, but also art. This is going to surprise a lot of people."

"Knights Of The Black Sun" is taken from the album "Sonic Mass", to be released on the September Equinox this year. Pre-sale links for the single will be posted on Profane Existence, AMEBIX and Easyaction web sites in early May.

In related news, AMEBIX has parted company with Alternative Tentacles Records after 26 years. The band has decided to step up to the challenge of releasing its own work and has founded Amebix Records in conjunction with Easyaction. They will release the new single, album and back catalogue under the new label while Profane Existence will continue to manufacture and sell the band's work as high-quality vinyl releases, with global distribution through Cargo Records.

Formed in the late Seventies and hailed as the godfathers of crust punk and extreme metal, AMEBIX had long lain dormant until the addition of drummer Roy Mayorga (NAUSEA, CRISIS, SOULFLY, STONE SOUR), a DVD release, and a string of 2009 reunion shows reignited the flame. The band's resurrection first resulted in the release of 2010's "Redux" EP, which features live and re-recorded versions of several of the band's best-loved classics, including "Winter", "Chain Reaction", and the immortal battle cry, "Arise!". The songs were remixed by Mayorga and "Redux" is available from Profane Existence on CD, 12-inch LP and digitally.


Rob Miller: Vocals/Bass
Stig C. Miller: Guitars
Roy Mayorga: Drums/Keyboards/Mandolin


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).