AMANDA SOMERVILLE's TRILLIUM: 'Full Speed Ahead' Lyric Video

AMANDA SOMERVILLE's TRILLIUM: 'Full Speed Ahead' Lyric Video

TRILLIUM, the metal project launched by American-born, Dutch-based singer/songwriter Amanda Somerville, has just released its sophomore album, "Tectonic", via Frontiers Music Srl.

The official lyric video for the disc's new single, "Full Speed Ahead", can be seen below.

Amanda's husband and musical collaborator Sander Gommans (AFTER FOREVER, HDK) stated about "Tectonic": "Writing, producing and mixing this album together with Amanda Somerville was an intense (three kids were born in between) but very fulfilling experience. Having AFTER FOREVER's André Borgman back on drums was a huge bonus for me!"

Added Amanda: "Where [TRILLIUM debut album] 'Alloy' was rather dark and moody and restless, 'Tectonic' is on the whole more uplifting and full of strength and character, though it's just as full of emotion.

"My life was shaken up by figurative earthquakes through several elements shifting in recent years and that's what this album represents. It's a challenge to make an album that's musically heavy without being dragged down by melancholy, but that's what Sander and I set out to do from the beginning and it worked out beautifully!"

Amanda continued: "The core and essence of 'Tectonic' is very personal and comes, basically, from the hearts and minds of a singer and a guitar player and I think that's very apparent when you listen to the songs. Sander and I didn't want to overthink things and over-complicate the songs. There's definitely some bombast in there because we both have a love of keyboard arrangements, but they don't rule the roost here. Also, the only guest performances are by good friends from my hometown in Flint, Michigan who also played live with me solo and with TRILLIUM, and also some great mates and colleagues of Sander's, so it's really a 'family' kind of album. We tried to keep things simple, and yet I think it's anything but low key!"

Somerville is well known for her collaborations with various high-profile European metal bands like AVANTASIA, EPICA, KAMELOT and AFTER FOREVER, to name a few. And let's not forget her musical partnership with HELLOWEEN vocalist Michael Kiske under the KISKE/SOMERVILLE banner. With a vocal range from tenor to soprano and a stylistically diverse singing ability, Somerville's voice is well suited for multiple styles, but TRILLIUM is firmly in the metal genre.

"Tectonic" track listing:

01. Time To Shine
02. Stand Up
03. Full Speed Ahead
04. Hit Me
05. Fighting Fate
06. Nocturna
07. Fatal Mistake
08. Shards
09. Cliché Freak Show
10. Eternal Spring

Recording lineup:

All vocals by Amanda Somerville
All guitars and bass by Sander Gommans, except:

Track 3: bass by Mark Burnash, second guitar solo by Paul Owsinski
Track 11: Guitars by Paul Owsinski, keyboards by Erik van Ittersum, drums by André Borgman

TRILLIUM released its debut album, "Alloy", in November 2011 via Frontiers. The CD was described in a press release as "a collection of songs that's charged with emotion and exploration and a very personal statement from Amanda."


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).