ALICE IN CHAINS Performs Three New Songs In London; Video Available

ALICE IN CHAINS debuted three new songs — "A Looking In View", "Acid Bubble" and "Check My Brain" — during a small, intimate gig at London's Scala on August 4, two days after playing the second stage at the METALLICA-headlined inaugural Sonisphere festival at the legendary Knebworth Park, United Kingdom.

Fan-filmed video footage of the "Acid Bubble" and "Check My Brain" performances can be viewed below.

The band's setlist was as follows:

01. Rain When I Die
02. Angry Chair
03. Man In The Box
04. Them Bones
05. Dam That River
06. A Looking In View
07. We Die Young
08. No Excuses
09. Down In A Hole
10. Sludge Factory
11. Acid Bubble
12. Again
13. It Ain't Like That
14. Dirt
15. Would?
16. Check My Brain
17. Rooster

ALICE IN CHAINS has tapped U2 and WHITE STRIPES video director Alex Courtes to shoot a clip for "Check My Brain", the first single from the band's new album, "Black Gives Way To Blue", which arrives on September 29.

Fans and members of the press heard "Black Gives Way To Blue" in its entirety at a private listening party in Los Angeles on July 14, followed by a three-song acoustic set by the band in which it debuted two songs from the album live — the title track and "Your Decision".

Although it's been posted online and is not an official single, the recently released ALICE IN CHAINS song "A Looking In View" has already begun climbing the rock radio charts as the first new music released by the group in 14 years. Guitarist Jerry Cantrell told The Pulse of Radio what the track was about. "The song is kind of generally about how easy it is to remain in a bad groove (laughs), you know, remain in a bad rut," he said. "The most difficult and at the same time easy thing is just to step out of it, you know what I mean? It's like being in a cell that you're locked in, with a door that's not locked. That could be anything, you know. It could be any sort of behavioral or thought process that keeps you there and basically keeps you from growing."

The group's tour starts on September 4 in Washington D.C.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).