The U.K. Satanic black/death metal band AKERCOCKE have inked a deal with Earache Records, according to Live4Metal.

The band completed the recordings for their new CD, "Choronzon", in late December and currently mixing the effort at Sonic Ranch studios in Tornillo, Texas with producer Neil Kernon (NEVERMORE, CANNIBAL CORPSE).

"Choronzon", which is being described as "faster, heavier, more disturbing and much fucking nastier" than their previous output, will contain the following track listing:

01. Scapegoat
02. Praise the name of Satan
03. Bathykolpian Avatar
04. Becoming the Adversary
05. Leviathan
06. Entering the valley of the Crucified
07. Enraptured by Evil
08. Prince of the East
09. Son of the Morning

Says AKERCOCKE guitarist/vocalist Jason Mendonca: " 'Choronzon' is the guardian of the abyss. With the tirade of pure sonic evil that we have recorded, we shall perhaps summon him and unleash hell. [laughs] The new songs feature all the classic AKERCOCKE hallmarks: crushing holocaust blast beats, cacodaemonic vocals, apocalyptic guitar traumas and hideous bass and electronic rancor, but the band have developed the backbone of the sound by including new textures and elements to create new shades of darkness within a vortex of Satanic dissonance."

Unmixed versions of the tracks "Becoming the Adversary" and "Praise The Name Of Satan" can be downloaded from the group's official web site at this location.

"Choronzon" is tentatively due in September.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).