A STORM OF LIGHT Unveils New Album Details

New York metal alchemists A STORM OF LIGHT will unleash their long-anticipated new studio offering on September 17 via Southern Lord Recordings. Entitled "Nations To Flames", the 11-track follow-up to the band's critically lauded 2011 opus "As The Valley Of Death Becomes Us, Our Silver Memories Fade" was recorded with Travis Kammeyer (OCOAI, GENERATION OF VIPERS) at Fahrenheit Studios in Johnson City, Tennessee, mixed with Matt Bayles (ISIS, SOUNDGARDEN, PEARL JAM, BOTCH, MASTODON) at Red Room Recording in Seattle, Washington and mastered by Brad Boatright (SLEEP, FROM ASHES RISE, NAILS) at Audiosiege in Portland, Oregon. Additionally, "Nations To Flames" features SOUNDGRADEN's Kim Thayil and INDIAN/NACHTMYSTIUM's Will Lindsay on select tracks.

Centered around the apex of human failure, "Nations To Flames" bears witness to the fall of all governments, all nations, and all religions. The record is both musically and thematically captivating and marks the STORM collective's darkest, most immediately punishing creation to date.

Comments A STORM OF LIGHT founding guitarist/vocalist Josh Graham "These songs are much more focused. Even the more 'epic' songs are shorter, but still accomplish the same journey as the longer songs used to. We've ditched the rock elements of the last record and let our early influences of KILLING JOKE, BAD BRAINS, METALLICA and CRASH WORSHIP seep in. We are bringing back the intensity of 'Black Ocean' but with the speed and precision ore akin to our metal influences. While there are still some slower/sludgy tunes, some songs are twice as fast as the older material."

"Nations To Flames" track listing:

01. Fall
02. Apostles Of Hatred
03. The Fire Sermon
04. Omen
05. Dead Flags
06. All the Shining Lies
07. Disintegrate
08. Lifeless
09. Soothsayer
10. You Are The Hunted
11. The Year Is One


Domenic Seita - Bass, Backing Vocals
Billy Graves - Drums, Percussion
Josh Graham - Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals

Additional musicians for select performances:

Will Lindsay - Guitar
Drea Black - Guitar
Nerissa Campbell - Vocals


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).