01. Empty Batteries
02. Chaos and Earthquakes
03. Fix This
04. Crashing
05. Passive Aggressive
06. Dodge Your Destiny
07. Wheel Against Will
08. Milestone
09. Feel the Way I Feel
10. Position One

RATING: 7.5/10

Taking nearly a year sabbatical following the touring cycle for its prior album, "The Poison Red", NONPOINT apparently needed the break. Considering it's released new material just about every other year, the group was due a break. That being said, recruiting AVENGED SEVENFOLD/ATREYU producer Fred Archambault to oversee the band's tenth album, "X", NONPOINT seized its regeneration by pounding out ten tracks in only 22 days.

Pinpointing the title of the lead song, "Empty Batteries", NONPOINT makes the most of its recharge. Though the track offers little new other than the usual melodic proto core NONPOINT have long served to its fans, there's urgency to the strumming and the song's dense projection. Even the breakdown flexes with a pump instead of merely bridging.

Elias Soriano's huff-raps on "Chaos and Earthquakes" will stoke the band's fans as they will the tune's tough guy skulk and B.C. Kochmit's clanging guitar solo. "Fix This" rings a hair of LINKIN PARK, and despite the predictable chord patterns and equally conventional breakdown, Adam Woloszyn's knotty bass line and the reverberating guitar lasers dress up what would've been a pedestrian number. Outcroppings of chunky riffs and dense fills on "Crashing" and "Passive Aggressive" likewise lift them from triviality.

It's too bad NONPOINT plays to its script following a blazing shred fest intro to "Dodge Your Destiny", but to the plus, the song is burly, and a shrewd splash of salsa is spread over the breakdown to keep listeners on their toes. The best riffs of the album are whacked throughout "Wheel Against Will", while Adam Woloszyn dials up "X"'s sickest bass grooves for the rap-scat of "Milestone", the tune itself borrowing from RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE.

Carrying its own veteran card, it's impressive that NONPOINT embraces what Fred Archambault pulls from them, engineering a thick and loud energy to augment the band's standard form proto rock. Archambault knows what a pro album sounds like, and "X" is one of NONPOINT's most pro recordings in its 20-plus-year career. "Dodge Your Destiny", the cinematic intro to "Empty Batteries" and the spectacular final minute of "Position One" offers hope NONPOINT stays on a steady future growth pattern.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).