"Waves of Visual Decay"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. Under a Luminous Sky
02. Frozen Asleep in the Park
03. Watching it all Disappear
04. Fooled by the Serpent
05. Waves of Visual Decay
06. My Bleeding Victim
07. At Dewy Prime

RATING: 8.5/10

It was not too long ago that I reviewed COMMUNIC's debut full-length "Conspiracy in Mind", for this very site. My rating of 7 was an indication of what I believed to be stellar musicianship and adventurous compositions that recalled the likes of NEVERMORE with more prog elements, but that somehow seemed to be missing that certain something that made me want to return for repeat listens. Regardless, several publications lauded that album as a masterpiece of sorts. I can now say without hesitation that the certain "something" that seemed to be missing, at least to these ears, has been located and injected into the music of "Waves of Visual Decay", making the seven songs infinitely more memorable without sacrificing an ounce of musical creativity or compositional grandness.

Throughout "Waves of Visual Decay", the band maintains a riff-based heaviness joined by textured and powerful percussion, while melody is always present, whether in tuneful choruses or ethereal wisps. The classy and NEVERMORE-esque muscular thrash-by-way-of-power-metal is heard most pointedly on songs like "Under a Luminous Sky" and "Fooled by the Serpent", right down to vocalist/guitarist Oddleif Stensland's Dane-ish style, which this time even includes the occasional Halford shriek. In other cases the same riff-heavy approach is joined by clean-picking airiness and brooding atmosphere, coupled with a passionate vocal performance (i.e. "Watching it all Disappear", "At Dewy Prime", and the title track). "My Bleeding Victim" is notable for its stuttering chug and memorable chorus. The real showstopper is "Frozen Asleep in the Park", a chilling piece about a troubled women's untimely demise. The peaks and valleys, the flowing leads, and the eerie beauty of it all reminds of what makes an album like NEVERMORE's "Dreaming Neon Black" such a tour de force. Finally, session keyboardist Endre Kirkesola enhances the arrangements, only softening the edges when called for by the arrangement.

The key to the success of "Waves of Visual Decay" is the way in which the songs are challenging from a progressive standpoint, yet as lengthy as some of these tracks may be, not a one ever seems excessive. The best bands take the listener on a journey, one that is full of surprises and not soon forgotten. Such as the case with COMMUNIC. The Norwegians have found their groove and will undoubtedly continue churning out timeless releases.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).