"Volto Del Demone"

(Independently Released)

01. Devils Floor
02. Take Me Home
03. Volto Del Demone
04. The Wait
05. Memories Ahead
06. Mission 35
07. One Way to Die
08. Face of the Demon (featuring Hank 3)

RATING: 8.5/10

Kentucky hard rockers MOONBOW follow up their impressive 2013 debut album, "The End of Time", with an equally striking, acoustically driven album, "Volto Del Demone". The tracks here were recorded over the past couple of years while multi-instrumentalist David McElfresh saddled up with cowpunk legend Hank 3. As it turns out, Hank Williams, III pays McElfresh a return favor on "Volto Del Demone" with guest vocals, drums, bass, guitars, keys and effects on "Face of the Demon".

Davey Mac fields guitars, fiddle, mandolin, steel guitar and backing vocals, while his primary collaborative partner Matt "The Beard" Bischoff (who, you might remember, appeared as a contestant on "Survivor: Caramoan") returns as lead vocalist. SOUTHERN GENTLEMEN/HUMAN COMETH/SIMPLE AGGRESSION vocalist Eric Johns provides cameos on "Devils Floor" and "Mission 35".

The stripped-down acoustic swing on "Devils Floor" gives David McElfresh a ton of space to layer his LYNYRD SKYNYRD and BLACK SABBATH riffs and breezy fiddles over a stomping tempo laid down by Steve Earle. "Devils Floor" still rocks hard within this dialed-down projection as McElfresh plugs in a juicy electric-guitar solo that squelches through the song's pump. "Take Me Home" thereafter builds itself to a mid-tempo throb with moody bass plugs by Ryan McAllister, and there's a dragged-down, trippy ALICE IN CHAINS feel to the cut with a wafting country bake to it.

Suffice it to say, the title cut is McElfresh's show for much of the ride. A swampy mandolin and fiddle-flying intro sets up a drawling country sway that is enriched by a gorgeous vocal layering, which counters the song's grumpy melody. It sounds pissy yet wonderfully tuneful, and the production of McElfresh's swarming instruments is masterful. Ditto for the gusty tilts of "The Wait", which grows more and more coated the longer it lofts.

"Memories Ahead" and "One Way to Die" are the most metal tracks in feel on this album, likewise carrying airs of ALICE IN CHAINS with their glum slogs. "Memories Ahead" ignites from David McElfresh's emotive electric-guitar burst, while he pulls long, weepy fiddle reveries within "One Way to Die". On the flipside, the appositely light and rock-driven "Mission 35" gives "Volto Del Demone" a pleasing kick.

On "Face of the Demon", Hank 3 supplements David McElfesh's reprised mandolin and fiddle drones in a twisted sort of remix, adding his own squelchy and dusty imprints. What was once stark becomes an encompassing orgy of instrumentation. Country coldwave for a futuristic sci-fi romp set in a bayou.

Davey Mac is building a tremendous reputation as a metal, rock and country performer, and his acumen is proven by watching him in each of Hank 3's four successive and stylistically different live sets. McElfresh can twang, gleam, peal, pluck, shred and whammy chord with anyone in the music business. "Volto Del Demone" proves he and MOONBOW are the real fucking deal.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).