"Upon Desolate Sands"

(Season Of Mist)

01. The Violent Fury
02. What Lies Beyond
03. Vengeance Striketh
04. Nothingness of Being
05. All Hope Destroyed
06. Portal of Myriad
07. Dark Age of Ruin
08. Upon Desolate Sands
09. For Whom We Have Lost

RATING: 8.5/10

Erik Rutan is one of the most important men in the history of death metal. He has established himself as one of extreme music's premier producers—having twiddled the knobs for the likes of everyone from MORBID ANGEL and CANNIBAL CORPSE all the way over to SOILENT GREEN, MADBALL and EPHEL DUATH. But he has most significantly left his indelible imprint by virtue of his work as an artist. Rutan was cutting his chops early on with underground legend RIPPING CORPSE before joining genre leader MORBID ANGEL for two separate periods. Yet in spite of the undeniably profound impact and value of the aforementioned two bands, neither project afforded the guitarist the opportunity to lead the charge.

So in the late nineties, Rutan embarked upon a new voyage helming his own ship's wheel: HATE ETERNAL. The act's 1999 debut, "Conquering the Throne", proved true to its name, and Rutan and company tested the limits of relentless, blasting death metal mayhem. Since then, some efforts have been better than others, but the group has never released a bad album, and it's stayed the course in term of operating as one of the genre's most belligerent entities. Now, with "Upon Desolate Sands", HATE ETERNAL has released one of its best albums.

With seven blistering albums over the course of a couple of decades, the lay person, or one not too intrigued by brutal death metal, most likely wouldn't notice the key differences at hand. In truth, the differences aren't vast—melodies, tempo changes, et cetera—but certainly impressive for a band that's almost always firing on all cylinders, in terms of speed and ferocity. While there was a fair share of impressively savage death metal bands in the late nineties, and a seemingly endless amount nowadays, HATE ETERNAL has always stood out because the focal point upon strong songwriting has never shifted. There are no major surprises, but "Upon Desolate Sands" isn't simply more of the same.

Rutan continues to write songs and riffs that demand your attention. While "Upon Desolate Sands" is technically impressive, Rutan's work here can primarily be described as passionate. The legendary guitarist isn't the only standout on the album, though. German drummer Hannes Grossmann—known for his work with NECROPHAGIST, OBSCURA and the instrumental tech metal supergroup BLOTTED SCIENCE—provides a percussive performance that's seemingly robotic, appropriately working alongside Rutan's intensity.

"Upon Desolate Sands" is cutthroat throughout, like MORBID ANGEL on steroids, yet the band has matured enough over the years to realize that some element of tempo variation isn't a bad thing. The blitzkrieg of "The Violent Fury" sets the tone for all that follows, while the majestic and evil crunch of "Nothingness of Being" best exemplifies the trio's (limited) excursion into slower tempo territory, as well as the pensive, ethereal lull of closer "For Whom We Have Lost". Elsewhere, "All Hope Destroyed" is absolutely twisted and maniacal, replete with an interesting, beautiful guitar solo to round things out.

One knows what to expect, as far as the general framework and sounds, from a new HATE ETERNAL album. But the Florida-based band has returned with a product that proves it is even better than before. And its continuing to do it far better than almost everyone else. That's if well-composed, passionate brutal death metal is one's cup of tea, anyway.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).