"Trample the Weak, Hurdle the Dead"


01. Overlord
02. A Unilateral Disgust
03. Deviation Will Not Be Tolerated
04. Trample The Weak, Hurdle The Dead
05. Spoils Of The Sycophant
06. Endvisioned
07. Execution Of Reason
08. Wicked World

RATING: 8/10

If anyone is worried that the departure of long-time vocalist and fiery front man Sherwood Webber would mean the demise of SKINLESS' patented sound, trust me, you needn't worry. On "Trample the Weak, Hurdle the Dead", replacement Jason Keyser (brother of bassist Joe) does an outstanding job with his sickening guttural growls and maniacal screams. Stylistically, this new slab of vintage death metal has much more in common with the excellent "Foreshadowing Our Demise" than the more expansive, even experimental, fare of 2003's "From Sacrifice to Survival". And those glorious movie samples that vanished on the last effort are back and oh so fitting. This is a true return to form. Noah Carpenter's trademark riffs, the devastating breakdowns, memorable arrangements, and all out destructiveness make "Trample the Weak, Hurdle the Dead" one of the elite death metal albums of 2006.

As soon as the sample from one of the "Planet of the Apes" movies (I can't recall which one) introduces album opener "Overlord" and the avalanche of guitars, drums, and bass comes rushing down the mountainside, you just know that SKINLESS has returned to its defining sound. And the quality remains high right on through to the amazing cover of BLACK SABBATH's "Wicked World". Songs like "A Unilateral Disgust" are filled with incendiary riffing and some of the most punishing breakdowns you'll ever hear on a death metal album. SKINLESS excels where so many others have failed. The songwriting is fantastic, the unit is tight beyond belief, and the brutality is delectably cranium crushing. And man, those grooves are deadly.

You'll find no messing about with genre expansion or experimental tweaking here. "Trample the Weak, Hurdle the Dead" is simply a great death metal album that takes an old school form and delivers it with pure lethality. Death metal fans are strongly advised to add this one to their collections as soon as humanly possible.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).